Pride logo

The Queer Rave Revolution

How Queer Rave ignites the passion within the LGBTQIA+ community

By Xilhu Ese Published 3 years ago 7 min read
1
Queer Rave Art by me!

Incensed, possessed and enchanted by the music, in ceremony and communion with each other, we become one with the rhythm, releasing and freeing our spirits. Being in the present moment and feeling alive in every single part of our body and soul - this is the essence, and the beauty of raving. The healing power of music and dancing in union with one another is undeniable. Raving, sharing music, making art, dancing and creating safe spaces for QTIBPOC to also do the same, are my passions. Queer Rave is an event, community and platform that I have created to bring all of these worlds together. I am passionate about diversifying and shaking up the club/ music scene, and Queer Rave proudly creates a safe space and platform where underrepresented DJs can grow as artists and showcase their incredible talents. My passion and enthusiasm for raving, DJing and art has been recognised and funded by DJ Mag and AZ Mag, sponsored by Pioneer DJ, and UK artist/singer Greentea Peng who is collaborating with us to create our first Queer Rave event… but my journey has not been without it’s bumpy roads.

When I was about 20, my mum kicked me out for being queer. I felt worthless, ashamed of myself and abandoned in the world. Rejection from my parents for something that I cannot change about myself was not an easy thing to live with in my younger days. And then, to release and transmute this pain in a sea of bass music among people that are like me in a safe space was a rare thing to find. For so long, QTIBPOC have been marginalised and rejected by wider society, so where do we go to reclaim our power and our joy together? After coming back from a rave one night, I began to think to myself- how can I create a community event that represents and celebrates people like me? How can I inspire my community and create safe clubbing experiences that Queer ravers will remember and cherish forever? How can I involve my community and bring new opportunities to LGBTQ+ DJs that are often underrepresented? Where are the places, the venues the event organisers and DJs that represent us- the LGBTQIA+ community- and facilitate a unique, safe raving experience? Queer people need safe spaces where we can be together and celebrate and uplift each other, in a non-judgemental environment, and that is what Queer Rave is on a mission to deliver to the community.

Trusting in my own vision to launch Queer Rave was definitely a huge challenge at first. I had not seen anyone doing what I’m doing, as a black queer British/ Nigerian woman, the odds were stacked against me in creating my own business in the music and event scene. Not to mention the lack of support from my parents in choosing such a niche career path, and rejection from them because of my queer identity on top of that. I have no prior experience in event organisation or marketing, but I dug deep inside myself and believed in Queer Rave with every ounce of my being… and it paid off! I applied for the DJ Mag x AZ Mag Creative fund, and my project Queer Rave was selected!! DJ Mag and AZ Mag granted Queer Rave £1,000 to create a dance music project. With that funding I have invested in launching Queer Rave’s platform and creating a visual art project that merges DJing and my creative vision together. I invited several Queer DJs to participate in this project by creating a 1 hour mix each which we recorded at DJ Mag’s HQ and I will edit and make into something magical, creative and inspiring.

Since then, I have received mentorship from DJ and BBC Radio 1XTRA host Jamz Supernova, Pioneer has sponsored us by sending us a DDJ-FLX6 DJ Controller and Studio Headphones, and are still collaborating with us to build Queer Rave’s very own, Jamaican Dub style Sound System- the origins and roots of Drum and Bass, Jungle and Dubstep in from London’s underground music culture. Queer Rave has also caught the attention of Aria Wells, professionally known as Greentea Peng, a London artist/singer, songwriter, who is curating a series of events with funding from Arts Council England to support emerging talent from London. She has reached out to me to bring a line-up of more QTIBPOC/LGBTQIA+ DJs and throw our first Queer Rave event! Because of lockdown, we couldn’t run our first event, so we had taken our platform online. But now we have the beautiful opportunity to throw an event with one of London’s most shining stars in music at the moment. My passion alone has taken me so, so far, and it will continue to take me to new heights, because I believe in Queer Rave with my whole heart!

Dreams can come true and life is magical; that’s how I feel when I’m dancing, when I’m creating, when I’m listening to Drum and Bass, when I’m connecting to my spirit, when I’m living life ecstatically. We all need to dance together again. We all need to be uplifted- with all that we have faced collectively from the global pandemic, the club scene has suffered and people haven’t been able to dance together for a while. With this collaboration of high vibrational energy from Greentea Peng and Queer Rave, an incredible, fun and magical event is going to take place that people will never forget!! The event is taking place in Ridley Road Market Bar, where Greentea Peng used to work before she started her singing career. It is inspiring to know that the community spirit is stronger than ever, which is why when our followers subscribe to our membership, they will receive exclusive mixes and podcasts from Queer DJs, artists and creatives on our own Queer Rave FM Radio community shows, opportunities to come to free Queer Rave outdoor summer parties in secret locations with our incredible Sound System, and a ‘ravers heaven’ care-package of Queer Rave merchandise which include genderless rave clothing, graphic artwork prints and exclusive members only festival passes when we tour in the Queer Rave bus to different/our own festivals!!

Queer Rave is ready to grow and rise to the next level. With $22k, Queer Rave’s vision in uniting the LGBTQ+ community in raving magic will be able to expand even further, allowing us to discover and create more platforms for queer identifying DJs and artists, purchase a truck and take our Sound System with us, throwing outdoor/ mobile raves locally and globally while establishing more Queer Rave communities throughout the world. We will be able to fully open up and revolutionise the clubbing industry to realise there are DJs/artists from the LGBTQIA+ community who are extremely talented and should not be overlooked because they are a QTIBPOC or any marginalised group. We will create even more incredible raves and safe spaces for queer individuals in the community, create art exhibitions that combine sound, visuals, dance and movement, and spread love everywhere we go.

Because of my many talents and passions, there are endless ways to remix and merge these worlds together, and monetise Queer Rave’s brand. Supporting us means supporting emerging talent from the LGBTQIA+ community. It means supporting change and diversification of the music and clubbing industry. It means giving hope to people like me, to be able to see ourselves represented and open more doors for the QTIBPOC artists coming up in the next generation. Supporting Queer Rave reverberates the reality that anything is possible, if you follow your heart and believe in dreams, no matter how you identify, and no matter how rejected you have felt for being you, there is always a place for you in this world. We deserve safe spaces where we can rave, unite in ecstatic dance, and celebrate our beautiful, unique existences!!

Identity
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.