Pride logo

The Papers

I would call you the one who got away, but I never had the courage to chase you.

By Phoebe Sunny ShengPublished 3 days ago 1 min read
The Papers
Photo by Robin Schreiner on Unsplash

We didn't have a wedding

You didn't give me a ring

We just signed the papers

First we walked

Then we took the subway

We talked

We went to the museum

And we held hands

Your hand was warm

You said mine was cold

But you can't care for me like I care for you

And even if you were

I wouldn't make you choose between me

And your family

So why do I keep asking

What if all my family cared about was whether you cared for me like I cared for you?

I don't want a wedding

I don't want a ring

What if we just signed the papers

And we walked

And we took the subway

Then we talked

And we went to the museum

And we held hands

Your hand was warm

Your hand warmed mine

And I didn't open my eyes.

CommunityRelationshipsIdentityHumanity

About the Creator

Phoebe Sunny Sheng

I'm a mad scientist - I mean, teen film critic and author who enjoys experimenting with multiple genres. If a vial of villains, a pinch of psychology, and a sprinkle of social commentary sound like your cup of tea, give me a shot.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Phoebe Sunny ShengWritten by Phoebe Sunny Sheng

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.