Pride logo

Queer and behind bars

Queer

By KanyinsolaPublished about a year ago 3 min read
2

As a lesbian in my country , it can be a struggle to keep my sexuality a secret. Not only is homosexuality illegal in this country, but it is also heavily stigmatized and discriminated against in society. The law regarding homosexuality mandates a prison sentence of up to 14 years for individuals who engage in same-sex relationships.

I have always known that I am attracted to women, but I have never been able to fully express myself or act on my desires. I am constantly living in fear of being discovered and facing the consequences of a discriminatory system that refuses to recognize my existence as a valid and equal human being.

It is a harsh reality of my life that I must constantly conceal my identity and remain vigilant in ensuring that my secret stays hidden. Any slip-up could bring about unimaginable consequences, as the law and society at large are quick to condemn and ostracize individuals who do not conform to traditional gender and sexual norms.

In a country where same-sex relationships are often seen as a moral and religious issue, rather than one of basic human rights, there is little hope for change anytime soon. The government and religious institutions continue to perpetuate a culture of intolerance and hatred towards members of the LGBTQ+ community, perpetuating violence and discrimination against us.

The new legislation could lead to imprisonment solely for a person’s actual or imputed sexual orientation. People could face charges for consensual sexual relations in private; advocacy of LGBT rights; or public expression of their sexual orientation or gender identity. The terms “same-sex marriage” and “civil union” are so broadly defined in the law that they include virtually any form of same-sex cohabitation.

“The law is so vague that it is likely to lead to the arbitrary arrest of gay people, while facilitating extortion and blackmail of vulnerable groups by members of Nigeria’s notoriously corrupt security services. This law threatens to further marginalize an already stigmatized population, driving them underground and imperiling their rights and their health.

Despite the many challenges that come with living as a ‘secret lesbian’ in my country , I refuse to let fear control my life. I am determined to find a way to live my truth, to love whom I choose, and to fight for my right to exist as a queer person in a society that would rather see me erased

As gay, lesbian, and transgender individuals have continued their fight for basic rights and equal treatment under the law, various court cases and challenges to those cases have continued to refine the debate. Protect people from homophobic and transphobic violence. Include sexual orientation and gender identity as protected characteristics in hate crime laws. Establish effective systems to record and report hate-motivated acts of violence. Ensure effective investigation and prosecution of perpetrators and redress for victims of such violence. Asylum laws and policies should recognize that persecution on account of one’s sexual orientation or gender identity may be a valid basis for an asylum claim.

Prevent the torture and cruel, inhuman and degrading treatment of LGBT persons in detention by prohibiting and punishing such acts and ensuring that victims are provided with redress. Investigate all acts of mistreatment by State agents and bring those responsible to justice. Provide appropriate training to law enforcement officers and ensure effective monitoring of places of detention.

Until the day comes when My country recognizes the human rights of all its citizens, regardless of their sexual orientation or gender identity, I will continue to keep my head down and speak out against oppression in whatever way I can. And I urge all my fellow queer to do the same, to stay strong, and to never lose hope for a better tomorrow.

Pride MonthRelationshipsCommunityhappiness
2

About the Creator

Kanyinsola

Giving you the BEST

Main: Queer/LGBTQ

🌸🌸🌸🌸🌸🌸🌸🌸

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.