Pride logo

Pride Parts

God is a Gay Girl

By Casper the GhostPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Pride Parts
Photo by andrew jay on Unsplash

Colorful minds are within the LGBTQIA+ community. We use the rainbow to show how disseminated the sexual spectrum is, along with inclusivity or unity among diversity. Undoubtedly, artists within our community make some of the most original music of this generation.

When I was a little girl, I remember thinking I wasn’t gay like a lesbian, just gay like a happy young lady. Now, I ask myself, what’s wrong with being gay like a lesbian? At the time, I was so conditioned to thinking that I shouldn’t express myself in any ways that were deemed ungodly at all. But what if God’s essence is within that of a innocent little young gay girl who looks up to her gay godfather? What if there is truth to God being a woman, and we take that a step further and say God is a gay woman?

This society doesn’t credit gay people enough, especially gay female pioneers. We are passionate, unapologetic trailblazers, many of us having gone through heartbreak. There is something sweet and pure about first gay love, which many authors flawlessly capture within their bodies of art. It’s important understanding the fine line between love and lust, so that you can brilliantly paint a picture of gay love the way it should be painted.

I am proud to be gay because when I embrace my gayness I feel more free. When I flirt with my gay girl friend, I feel relaxed. The gay jokes are starting to build up, and we race to get to them first. Love is love, so I must be proud to be a BIF (bisexual female), who is full of enough love to go to both genders. Everyone should feel completely free to be accepted as the bundle of love that they are, however they identify as.

But even being a bisexual female/BIF, I understand that my love is not limited to just two words. I love freely and in faith. Love is so much deeper than sex. Love is raw, genuine choices to adore someone for who they are and that’s it. Love is deep within our spirits. So when people tell me I’m wrong, I choose not to listen. How can someone tell me I am wrong for loving so unashamedly in the only way my brain knows how?

As the legend Frank Ocean once sang, I see both sides like Chanel. I’m a very kind person. When I was a young girl I was very confident that I did not like boys, but the pressure to be with one was pushed on me from a young age. In fact, the way I got with my first boyfriend was not because we loved each other, but because we were pressured by our parents to start a romantic relationship. I even wanted to cut all my hair off from a young age. I know now these are signs of a free-spirited young person.

It's not comfortable for many people to talk about, but unless we want to make real change, it's up to us to keep starting the conversation. Gender norms are 𝑠𝑜 outdated. Society needs to teach young people it’s okay to have feelings and crushes on people of your own gender. I am standing my ground, because my belief system is that there is so much more to love than gender roles and body parts.

Now that I think about it, I had a big crush on a girl at a young age. It all makes sense now. Really, we were just innocently playing around, but there was also some real flirting here and there. Who has the right to judge me for being a gay woman? Nobody on earth.

Empowerment
Like

About the Creator

Casper the Ghost

Instagram: @cyrapunzel

Cashapp: $cyrapunzel

She, Her

Published Poet and Author, Dancer, Singer, LGB

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.