Pride logo

Pride (In The Name of a Playlist)

An ally takes a peak into what could be "LGBT" pop; brought to you by the 70s/80s/90s.

By Kent BrindleyPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
6
Pride (In The Name of a Playlist)
Photo by Yoav Hornung on Unsplash

Howdy; and welcome to June.

When it comes to the LGBT+ community, I am most likely an "ally" in the best of times; and an unintentional OFFENDER in the worst of times (in my understanding, actual cruelty/nastiness requires INTENT; or at least the refusal to apologize for LEGITIMATE offenses).

So, by "ally" (or unintentional offender), I mean straight and cisgendered. So WHY am I even here, using the internet as an outlet for MY voice, during JUNE of all times (the NERVE!)?

A. ...I have the same rights to use social media to speak as any nonoffensive individual, whether we're in between January-May/July-December or NOT!

B. ...Well, I DID read something about composing a playlist, so here I am...

As I compose my "Pride" playlist, I only mention (AGAIN) that I'm speaking as, at best, an ALLY simply so that you know where I'm coming from. The LGBTQ+ community is free to take this playlist and do what they will.

YMCA (THE VILLAGE PEOPLE)

Show of hands; who DIDN'T see this one coming?

Come on, don't be shy now.

Okay; literally NO ONE was surprised by this?

Good.

Surprise, surprise; YMCA wasn't STRICTLY intended for Sports fans. (See also "We Are The Champions).

"Young man," YMCA is so blatantly pride-filled that even I could see it coming.

MACHO MAN (THE VILLAGE PEOPLE)

"OHHHH, YEAHHHHHHH; DIG IT!"

...What were we talking about again?"

Okay; THIS "Macho Man" was yet ANOTHER ditty by the Village People (and if ANY song could be more blatantly obvious than YMCA; well, it was called "Macho Man.")

DANCING QUEEN (ABBA)

A fun song, people having fun by dancing together, a single individual being recognized for their dance moves, and "queen" references.

Embrace this song (because SOME community has to).

DON'T STOP BELIEVIN (JOURNEY)

Okay, now, even I know that I'm stretching things a bit here (but who DOESN'T love "Don't Stop Believin;" the FIRST several thousand times they hear it?)

Society has come a long way toward acceptance of our LGBTQ+ neighbors.

...There is still a long way to go yet.

I beseech you, DON'T GIVE UP HOPE now!

DON'T STOP BELIEVING of a better tomorrow!

That; and there will NEVER be another vocal frontman like Steve Perry (I'm looking at you, Freddie Mercury; and I'm DEFINITELY speaking to YOU, Arnel Pineda).

...Admittedly, the month of JUNE ("Pride Month") is a REALLY bad time to speak too illy of the late Freddie Mercury and his talent.

I WANT TO BREAK FREE (QUEEN)

I'm doing what I can to keep these to ONE song per artist; even when I'm speaking of such icons as The Village People, Queen, George Michael, or Elton John.

Out of SO many Queen songs that COULD make a "Pride..." playlist, I picked "I Want to Break Free" for its message and accompanying video.

DANCING IN THE STREET (David Bowie/Mick Jagger)

Yes; PRIDE!

Good times!

Dancing in the STREETS!

...and an uncomfortably homoerotic music video to boot.

Yeah; the music video put the David Bowie and Mick Jagger version of "Dancing..." over the top and added it to the list.

MODERN LOVE (DAVID BOWIE)

...The FIRST use of David Bowie was in an ensemble; and BEING David Bowie means that he bears repeating.

Carry on.

ROCK ME TONITE (BILLY SQUIER)

...The video that very nearly SINGLE-HANDEDLY canceled Billy Squier's status as a modern-day rock god.

Once again, this pick has EVERYTHING to do with the accompanying video. Now, seriously; take this tune, add it to your pride playlist, and let your self-pride in your identity SOAR!

HUMAN (HUMAN LEAGUE)

...Not where you thought I was going with "Human League," was it?

Okay; I've NEVER understood where "Don't You Want Me?" was connected to the "Pride" movement.

And, much thanks to "Don't You Want Me?," "Human" is severely underrated.

Here we are.

You're welcome.

I'M STILL STANDING (ELTON JOHN)

This is a "Pride..." play list and I've already addressed The Village People and Queen.

The wait is over for me to point out "Sir Elton John."

Hey, haters, (in the case of the LGBTQ+ community, any number of "haters" could be thought of) this is your daily reminder that, despite hurtful words, harmful actions, and shunning behavior...

"I'M STILL STANDING...!"

Yes; regardless of WHO you are, STAY STANDING and stay PROUD of who you are even (/ESPECIALLY) in the face of adversity!

Remind people who intend hatred/harm...

"...I'm still standing (YEAH, YEAH, YEAH!)

THAT'S WHAT FRIENDS ARE FOR (DIONNE [WARWICK] AND [HER] FRIENDS [GLADYS KNIGHT/STEVIE WONDER/THE AFOREMENTIONED SIR ELTON]).

We have come a long way as a society towards acceptance of our Brothers/Sisters/Neighbors who have every right to feel pride in their identities ("As we ALL deserve to feel proud of at least certain parts of who we are. But this June and I'm trying to NOT get cancelled...")

There will ALWAYS be people who are not ready for progress in how we treat one another.

That is where the LGBTQ+ community NEEDS one another; and, furthermore, THIS is where allies can feel free to step in as they see the need.

As you seek to be PROUD of who you are, you may face unscheduled and seemingly unrelenting adversity.

Know that you matter, know your worth, and always...

Keep smiling,

Keep shining,

Knowing you can always count on ME, for sure!

(I know how obnoxious this song actually sounds on the radio and I promise that I'm done now).

Sometimes, even a straight ALLY has to buck the rules and cross the aisle to offer a friend a listening ear or crying shoulder; as the very least of what they should do. Because "that's what friends are for" (Okay; NOW I'm done...)

An acquaintance could probably walk away and mind their own business as they WATCH adversity happen.

A FRIEND is

For good times, and bad times,

I'LL BE on YOUR SIDE FOR-EH...

AUUUUUUUUUUUGH!

...I love what you're trying to represent here, Dionne (Warwick); but I officially HATE you (and whoever brought your friends together with you to set THIS to music.

I'LL TUMBLE 4 YA (CULTURE CLUB)

Again, we're talking about LGBTQ+ Pride and the 80s.

So here are Boy George and Culture Club.

...Of EVERYTHING that Boy George and Company submitted to the RADIO (let alone an entire album), I've picked "I'll Tumble 4 Ya" for a "Pride" playlist as it goes the extra mile of not only emoting images of Pride but images of a gymnast as well...

Next.

IN THE NAME OF LOVE (THOMPSON TWINS)

A song entitled "In the Name of Love" screams like it belongs on a person's "Pride" playlist moreso than it belonged on the soundtrack to "Ghostbusters." (Albeit that, without its inclusion on the Ghostbusters soundtrack, I'd have never heard of THIS track from the Thompson Twins and they'd be relegated to being remembered for the reasonably decent "Hold Me Now" and the utter drek, "Doctor, Doctor.")

"THE LOOK" (ROXETTE)

There's a good chance that this is too far of a stretch again; but I find Roxette to be horribly underrated and this seemed a more natural fit than ("Dangerous/"Listen to Your Heart"/"It Must've Been Love.")

FREEDOM (GEORGE MICHAEL)

"Wham's" inclusion in this Pride Playlist can fall strictly to George Michael's solo work.

Now, for as iconic as George Michael was to the LGBTQ+ community, you could pick any number of his songs and...

...who are we kidding?

There was only ONE "Freedom" that George Michael was singing about; the freedom to be yourself, the freedom to come out, and the freedom to be loved as you deserve.

(I suppose that I could see "Father Figure" instead).

I WANNA COME OVER (MELISSA ETHERIDGE)

Etheridge is MUCH better remembered for "Come To My Window" (ALSO a very reasonable submission for ANY Pride Playlist) and "I'm the Only One."

I've always PREFERRED "I Wanna Come Over."

It might be a BIT of a stretch to call this a Pride ANTHEM. It STILL could find its reasonable place in a person's "Pride" Playlist.

ONE VOICE (BILLY GILMAN)

As country artists, both Billy Gilman and Ty Herndon (officially) came out within a couple of hours of one another on the same day several years ago.

Between the two of them, I could really see Billy Gilman's "One Voice" on a "Pride..." playlist (It takes an extremely crude and snarky interpretation to sneer at Ty Herndon for "A Man Holding Onto a Woman Letting Go." Maybe "What Mattered Most" could be considered; but it's also, primarily, a breakup song meant for a heterosexual couple).

PRIDE (IN THE NAME OF LOVE) (U2)

Here we have a tune LITERALLY CALLED "Pride (in the Name of Love)."

Crank it up, love who you are, and love who you love.

Thanks for considering this playlist for your listening pleasure.

Love who you are, love who you love, and take PRIDE in your identity...

The aspiring ally and author, signing off.

(Reaches to play the instrumental work of "Pride [In the Name of Love]; he final chords to "That's What Friends Are For" come honking out of the speaker like a cross between a strangling goose and an earworm).

Pride Month
6

About the Creator

Kent Brindley

Smalltown guy from Southwest Michigan

Lifelong aspiring author here; complete with a few self-published works always looking for more.

https://www.instagram.com/kmoney_gv08/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.