Pride logo

Keep The Faith

An Epically Queer Poem

By Herman WilkinsPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Boystown (Chicago) - H. Wilkins

I. I Love A Parade the Most When It Starts

Who would believe today’s the day that I let my light shine

One day of the year all my fears subside

Come rain or pain most other days, today is all of mine

Fasten up and hold on tight for the wildest ride

Will you believe me tomorrow, when the lights have all gone dim

That I danced the night fantast’ as though I’d always be with him

The lights were dark as the music blared, we held each other dear

The music and our loves embrace, was somehow still sincere

The sun comes up and my voice is gone but soon to return

Last year around this time I indeed felt a burn

Sober again and finally the dawn comes

Every Business Is A Little Gay Until Tomorrow. Photo Credit H. Wilkins

II. Before and After June

morning has broken

the day will be festive

even till night falls

the rainbows abound

then dancing in the moonlight

but the dawn will come

season of folly

reborn in good time

all stars shine till dawn

the air is still thick

with the most potent wonder

sunrise chases off

alone with my thoughts

aching limbs and bruised heart

anticipating

the lull in longing

the last days parade of hope

of another year

III. For Just One Night

For just one night

I was the man of the hour

You know the one that walks into the party

like he’s walking onto a yacht

The one with the swagger

The one with verve

The man in full

The one with steel nerves

Out and about and off on the pull.

For just one night

I was big man on campus

You know the one that caught

the eyes of all those around

The one with grace

The one with aplomb

and a body for embrace

The one with elan

The one who was handsome

From the lips to the thumbs.

For just one night

I was the beau du bal

Exquisite and rare

With a generous heart and not so subtle flare

The one whose smile lights up a room

The one whose eyes dispels any gloom

The one that dances without a care

The one that prances chest fully bare.

But the next morning when I finally woke

The dream was over though I tried to stroke

The memories of the night gone by

In hopes that I wouldn’t have to try

But the moment was gone and sober anew

I get on with this life and nothing I’ll rue.

The next morning I’m a man alone

With a greedy puppy and a cracked iPhone

I wonder what happened to my gentleman callers

If they could see me now they’d doubt I was baller

Once again scrawny and black and blue.

I’m a five again, six if I groom

With ugly feet and a cluttered room

Alone by default, so I play some tunes

Mariah and Bey will lift my mood.

Because I’ve tasted hope and now know my due.

Tomorrow and tomorrow still creeps a petty date

But I will come again. I will come again.

All American Pride Inside (Chicago Public Library) Photo Credit H. Wilkins

IV. Keep The Faith

They should invent a pill

for the morning after

Or a shiny boa’ and

hang it from the rafters

When life is sad and dull

or the day is so gray

Take the pill, throw on the

boa’ and know life is gay!

Throw a ‘tastic party

in the midst of July,

One to raise the spirits

of those life will belie.

Cause when the sun has set

and the party's over,

we can recall to toast

life throughout the ember!

When the holidays come

and some are all alone,

The glow of memories

will always set a tone

Of fabulosity

that is still there for all

When the parade is done

we all can still stand tall.

Keep strong the growing faith,

Keep the faith growing strong.

Standing Gay Still-Still Standing Gay Photo Credit H. Wilkins

Community
1

About the Creator

Herman Wilkins

An old writer of new stories. I love chronicling this journey called life for myself and my fellow humans. I also am a filmmaker for New Media, Film and Television.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.