Pride logo

I Used to Dream about Him (Micro-nonfiction)

A Genderfluid Experience

By ThatWriterWomanPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
17
I Used to Dream about Him (Micro-nonfiction)
Photo by Alexander Grey on Unsplash

I used to dream about him. A tall, handsome stranger with strong arms to scoop me up into. He dressed smartly, smelled of cologne, wore a shiny watch and new shoes. He had a beard - always a beard. No matter how many times I imagined him over the years, in different outfits, with different body types. No matter how many times he changed - he always had a beard.

When I was young, I labelled this man my future husband. Clearly, I was having the fantasies everyone else was having. Clearly, the reason he made my heart race was because I fancied him. Clearly, I was thinking about him because I wanted to kiss him, yes, that was it...

I told a friend about him one day, as we were describing our perfect men and giggling together. Our break was almost over and it was time to go back to class when she passed a comment about how my man looked like a male version of me. That thought stuck to me, adhering to my skin tightly - I tried my best to scrape it off but it stuck tighter under my fingernails.

As I grew taller, my shape became more feminine. I looked in the mirror for hours on end (to the chagrin of my family) and frowned at my hips, my breasts and my face. Some days, I enjoyed these features. Other days, they were just unbearable! Still, the man patiently waited in my head.

I saw a picture of myself one day. Ironically, it was taken at a women's-only race which I participated in for charity. I loved that picture. My shirt was plain but the angle of my head cut under my chin, sharpening my jaw, making it square. My shoulder muscle bulges at the angle, showing a flat upper chest. A very unflattering picture for a girl. That's when I started to think a little more about this.

It took many years, but I found out that I was only romantically attracted to women. I was 17 and extremely scared at the revelation. I had used the man in my head to argue against my homosexuality for too many years. Repression, repression, repression.

Still, it couldn't go on forever, and I accepted that part of myself. The part that adores those feminine parts that I so hated to grow myself.

By Raphael Lovaski on Unsplash

I was messing around with make-up one day, as I tend to do. I love make-up! It's a way to connect with and love my face. First, I brushed on my go-to look, soft eyebrows, a little contour and a red/pink lip. I was pleased with it and took some pictures to send to my friends for a little feedback. Once I had taken them, I looked at the woman in the picture. All of a sudden, I was that little girl frowning at the bathroom mirror again. The make-up was fine, in fact, it may have been the best I had ever done it - but the woman staring back at me was not me.

So I started messing around again, making the brows heavier, contouring straighter and wiping away the lip stain. I took another picture - yes, more me, but not there yet. I pulled up a video of some drag kings and began shading in a beard shape, with some darker hair lines. I also learned how to shade my chest to look less full, but didn't attempt it.

'One step at a time' I told myself.

Make up now sitting heavy on my face, I took the last picture.

There he was

The man in my head - smiling back at me!

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

For more information on genderfluidity, please visit: https://www.health.harvard.edu/blog/gender-fluidity-what-it-means-and-why-support-matters-2020120321544

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A/N: Hi there! I hope you enjoyed this drabble! I enjoyed writing it!

If you would like to hear about more of my stories and drabbles, give me a follow here or on Twitter

If you would like to support me as a writer, please comment, share insights, tip or share!

Thank You,

ThatWriterWoman (sometimes ThatWriterMan)

Identity
17

About the Creator

ThatWriterWoman

Welcome!

Writer from the UK (she/her, 25) specializing in fictional tales of the most fantastical kind! Often seen posting fables, myths, and poetry!

See my pinned for the works I am most proud of!

Proud member of the LGBT+ community!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  5. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Rebecca Stephens`6 months ago

    Well… that hit a lot closer to home than I thought it would. Absolutely exceptional - actually made me tear up. Thank you ❤️

  • Celia in Underland8 months ago

    I really loved the ending/ Really emotive and well written nut also insightful.

  • This was breathtaking and powerful. My son struggled in his teens. I couldn't understand why our relationship went from best friends to not being able to relate at all. It wasn't until he first came out to me when he was twenty that a lot of our struggles started to make sense. He was struggling with who he was back then. He didn't know that I would accept him if he just told me. I can't imagine the turmoil he must have felt worrying that if he let his secret out the whole world would come crashing down.

  • Naomi Gold9 months ago

    I resonated with this so fucking hard. I’m 40 years old and still sexually confused. I’ve been celibate for several years because I have no idea what I want, other than a career as an author. For most of my life I’ve felt like a guy in a conventionally attractive female body, and had many other people say they feel the same way about me. I’m not a tomboy. It’s deeper than that. It’s something energetic. I struggled with body dysmorphia and gender dysphoria in my youth, but thankfully outgrew both. I’m pretty accepting of my androgyny these days. I think I’d like an equally androgynous partner who is secure in themselves, but those are hard to come by. I definitely enjoy fantasizing about men (especially those with beards) more than making out with them. You said a lot here. Thank you.

  • This was an emotive journey. Well written ❤️

  • Miss^_^San9 months ago

    A powerful journey of self-discovery and acceptance. Embracing one's true self is a beautiful and courageous process. ✨

  • Great Story💖😉📝💯❗

  • Phil Flannery10 months ago

    Quite the journey. Lovely writing.

  • Kanyinsola12 months ago

    Love this I just subscribed Great work🌸

  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    I love your descriptive language in this one, I feel like I can clearly see the man you are describing in the beginning. Overall it was a beautiful story about your beautiful and unique journey! Thank you for being brave enough to share it! 💜

  • Excellent insightful piece, you got a subscription and thank you for the retweet on twitter

  • This comment has been deleted

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.