Pride logo

Hey Alexa! Play....

Let’s taste the Rainbow playlist

By K.J. Su’aPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
3

I never knew what Pride was let alone experienced what it felt like to be a prideful person, even in my own self. I for sure knew I was Gay and I remember the one and only time I ever asked myself, “are you?”

“YOU SURE ARE!”.

Ever since then I never questioned it.

But remained a mystery to me for a long time was the term Pride. How was it used? How was that incorporated in today’s gay culture? I never understood it. I mean yeah... you can ask people but they can’t get you to feel the act of being prideful in ones self. I’ve found out that the experiences you act upon exploring the world of homosexuality will only make the Pride that’s in your heart and soul shine outwards in all the ways you want it too.

I knew I had to venture out on my own and find out for myself. I was scared somewhat, but always knew that the feeling of being scared never out did the happy and satisfied feelings you get in the process of becoming not scared anymore. I lived for those kind of moments.

Music along with the LGBTQ community gave me life in those moments.

“Hey Alexa, play Let’s Taste the Rainbow playlist”

1. VENGABOYS - We Like to Party!! (venga bus)

“......happiness is just around the corner, hey now hey now, here what I say now, we’ll be there for you...”

This song made me feel a sense of comfort and just letting free, not to worry cause it all comes with a fun party bus filled with awesome new friends traveling across the country. You know when you really want to hangout with that one friend and your hoping they ask you if you want to hangout? How would you feel if they didn’t even ask you and told you they were just around the corner? Ready to swoop you up because they know they want to have a good time plus YOU know hands down they genuinely want you apart of that. So now that’s just damn exciting :) That’s how it felt for me through this song and the welcoming vibe I got when becoming a part of the community. A great start in discovering the Pride I had still buried deep inside me.

2) FERGIE - L.A. LOVE (la la)

“..... lay back, slow down, whatchu represent when we come to your town..”

This song makes me feel that no matter where my roots came from or where the place I reside; equality in different backgrounds, all races & ethnicities still remains. We all represent and take pride in where we came from by saying, “la la la la”.

3) KASKADE - DISARM YOU

“ ...Let me observe you, of the past that controls you, I just want to know what you look like without a weight on your soul...”

This song speaks to me as if my very own Pride is now slowly showing itself, observing me telling me it’s okay to come out now. Its now prepping me, disarming me, and setting me free but also letting me know there’s no way in hell it’s leaving my side. Pride begins to consume my heart and starts making me proud for who I am. The second I heard this song was in that very second I made a full 36o believing in the Pride I had for myself.

4) KYLIE MINOGUE - GET OUT OF MY WAY

“What’s the worst thing that can happen to you, take a chance tonight and try something new. Your getting boring , your oh so boring And I don’t recognize the zombie you turn into.”

Hearing this song I feel as if my Pride was prying on my very soul. And made the giant leap successfully latching onto it, giving me new intense feelings one can only explain by experiencing them on their own.

5) ITZY - WANNABE

“I don’t wannabe somebody, I wannabe me, be me, I wannabe me me me”

“No matter, if you love me or hate me... I wannabe me, be me for me”

I feel like this song is the true epidemy of what Pride really is, of what it does to me, and in the end giving me the sense of being prideful in myself but most importantly understanding now the affects of what one feels like having it and knowing it will always be there. Be there, for you.

Pride Month
3

About the Creator

K.J. Su’a

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.