Pride logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Hate The Sin, Love The Sinner

"I don't hate the people who are a part of it just because I don't celebrate or affirm it."

By Phoebe Sunny ShengPublished 4 days ago 1 min read
Haring, Keith. Unfinished Painting. 1989. Acrylic on canvas. 100 cm by 100 cm.

Do I hate you?

No, I don't hate you, why would you think that?

But I think that the way your brain is wired is wrong

Unnatural

Abominable

Sinful

I don't hate you, but I think you don't deserve to be in love

In fact, what you feel isn't love

It’s sodomy

Disgusting

Gross

I think you should read this book that says you should be stoned

Electrocuted

Denied medical treatment

Bullied

Beaten

Drugged

Disowned

And disinherited from the kingdom of God

By a God that didn't love you enough to wire you right

I don't hate you

I just hate who you are

HumanityRelationshipsPride MonthHistoryCommunity

About the Creator

Phoebe Sunny Sheng

I'm a mad scientist - I mean, teen film critic and author who enjoys experimenting with multiple genres. If a vial of villains, a pinch of psychology, and a sprinkle of social commentary sound like your cup of tea, give me a shot.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Phoebe Sunny Sheng (Author)3 days ago

    I came across a post on my Pinterest that said what I put in the subtitle of this article and it pissed me off. This is my first attempt at a satirical poem that is meant to mock the hypocrisy of those who mask their hate towards queer love with God's love.

Phoebe Sunny ShengWritten by Phoebe Sunny Sheng

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.