Pride logo

Dear Younger Me's

A letter to the Queer Youth of Today (for the QVV/ViM Pride Month Collab Challenge)

By S.K. WilsonPublished 11 days ago 3 min read
My letter to the Queer Youth of Today, Tomorrow & Yesterday

Dear Younger Me's,

This is a letter to all the younger me’s in this world right now. The Queer youth that has for whatever reason hidden themselves away. Hidden their true, beautiful light inside for any number of reasons. Whether you are hiding who you love, who you really are, or any other aspect of yourself that for now you fear others knowing, this letter is for you … and for the younger me that never had this letter.

I wish I could give you the words you need right now. I wish I could guide you to where you need to be. Most of all I wish I could give you the hug you need and tell you it’s all going to be okay. I promise one day it will be alright. Please don’t feel any pressure to come out to the world, not until you are ready. There is no ‘perfect’ time, no ‘perfect’ day to do these things; the right day to step out and show the world the true, amazing, and beautiful you … is when you are ready.

Stay in there if you need to for now, but when you’re ready, know and trust I’ll be there for you. If you need a friend to talk to, I’m here. If you need a shoulder to cry on, I’m here. If you need a home, mine is open. If you need a protector, I am here.

Whatever part of you that you’re hiding away because you feel you can’t show it … can’t say it, because saying it may cause harm. Know there is nothing wrong with you, nothing broken. Those voices, whether from those around you, or that cruel inner voice of doubt, they are wrong, they do not speak the truth of you. You are beautiful and you are valid, and you are the only one that decides your truth.

Please know it can and will get better. I was where you are once too, feeling alone, feeling lost in myself. Afraid to show who I really was, scared of what might happen if I let myself out. For far too long I was trapped inside that closet of my own creation, just like you. I had no words, I had no voice, no one to talk to. But you do ...

It breaks my heart to know you are in pain, the same pain I once shared with so many others, a pain I would not wish on anyone. Now I am free of that pain, I swear now I will be that person if you need me. I will be your voice until you feel strong enough. Until you are ready to turn that handle, open the door and walk out into the world the true, real, and amazing creature you are.

I believe you were made by a great and powerful creator. One that is merciful, loving, full of grace unmatched, who never makes mistakes. You have been created as a beautiful reflection of their love. You don’t have to believe, dear ones, don’t need to share my belief for me to love you. All I wish for you to believe in, is yourself … believe in you.

Wherever you are in your journey, please know how strong you are just for still being here! You are so amazing, so brave, so incredibly … you! No one else in the history of everything has ever been that. So please, when you’re read; show the world who you are, show the world your light. I’ll be right there by your side, the whole way. For now, keep holding on, keep surviving, keep believing in you and the future you will have.

Until then, know that you are loved and you are valid.

xxx

═ஓ๑♡๑ஓ════ஓ๑♡๑ஓ════ஓ๑♡๑ஓ════ஓ๑♡๑ஓ════ஓ๑♡๑ஓ═

This piece was written for the Letters to Our Queer Youth QVV & ViM Pride Month Collab Challenge.

HumanityPride MonthIdentityEmpowermentCommunityAdvocacy

About the Creator

S.K. Wilson

She/Her | Australian 🏳️‍⚧️ Author

My short form writing mostly falls into the absurd, strange and nonsensical. I enjoy writing micro-fiction collections, and exploring poetry.

Debut novel out now! The Knights of Avalon

Connect on Linktree

🩷

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Christy Munson9 days ago

    Beautiful letter written from love. Your words are going to help young lives (and possibly some older ones too). 🌈❣️🫶🏻

  • Andrea Corwin 9 days ago

    Exquisite letter for the challenge. Heartfelt and loving!!❣️❣️💕

  • Shirley Belk10 days ago

    Great letter. Love how God has helped you :)

  • 😭❤️ so much heart, so much care

S.K. WilsonWritten by S.K. Wilson

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.