Pride logo

Dancing Attitude And Love

Music Heals

By Amy Chris Keiper aka LC HarrisonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

To celebrate through Anthem, Pride for each individual has unique likes, feelings, and experiences is quite the challenge. I personally am not very open about my heart, my feelings are something private, and most of even my closest friends (that are like family) and my beloved family really don't know all that I am. My Sister did, and we used to sing many of these songs on many occasions, just having a good time. She was my best friend, strongest supporter, greatest ally, and so much more than my Super Sis. For me, I am a supportive ally, who happens to be a member. I am not ready to be fully open about my feelings, but I can't resist sharing my unique playlist.

I have included mostly songs I have been singing along to every time I hear them, songs I have been playing almost non-stop for the last month, songs that express how I am feeling, and anthems that ignite my spirit to feel free. My favorite songs to dance to, sing, and listen to, along with some of my greatest inspirations, favorite artists, and just people I admire. Without my music, I would be forever lost. Music keeps me strong, empowered, filled with faith and hope for now and tomorrow. Music is my favorite form of expression, and has and will always be a huge part of who I am.

For me the key is dancing, when I am dancing I feel that I am setting my spirit free, untethered by the judgements of society and what anyone else might think. Dance is an art, an expression of the heart and soul, and music is its wings. To me this is why music is so powerful, because it reaches past miscommunication and can be understood by everyone. Raising your spirit and uplifting your heart.

When you are dancing, singing upbeat songs at the top of your lungs, your spirit is free. I truly believe music is very healing for the soul and heart. The beat, vibrations and soul of sound just envelop you and resonate through you. Music takes any emotion, and allows you to freely express with all you are to know freedom and joy, care free. There is no judgment in music, just great sounds and feeling, it is a tool that allows for the spirit to be truly set free. To me a good beat, the right words, and the volume turned up is renewing.

An anthem is an uplifting song that unifies and brings together, rallying the human spirit. Any song that raises your own spirit, and brings you joy is an expression of your own inner anthems. For me anthems come from happy memories, songs that have expressed different points in my life, set my heart free, and express how I feel. When it comes to my heart, I am a complex multifaceted spirit, as diverse as time, space, and variety, as limitless as love and music can be.

Music is something I will always be forever grateful for. It is my breath, my freedom, and my voice.

So what is it I am listening to? Can you even imagine?

"It's Hard to Say Goodbye" by Donny Osmond

"She Hangs Out" by The Monkees

"Love Today" by Mika

"Somebody to Love" by Queen

"You Need to Calm Down" by Taylor Swift

"I Can't Decide" by Scissor Sisters

"Prince Charming" by Adam Ant

"If I Had You" by Adam Lambert

"Dance, Dance" by Fall Out Boy

"We Belong" by Dove Cameron

"Love Will Keep Us Together" by Captain and Tennille

"Don't Go Breaking My Heart" by Elton John and Kiki Dee

"Dancing Queen" by ABBA

"Take A Chance On Me" by ABBA

"I Think We're Alone Now" by Tiffany

"One Way Or Another" by Blondie

"Straight Up" Paula Abdul

"We Belong" by Pat Benatar

Pop Culture
Like

About the Creator

Amy Chris Keiper aka LC Harrison

I am a gothic Horror/Fantasy writer and poet, entertainer, musician, artist/designer, metaphysician & Minister (Reverend, Priestess).

"Without knowing imagination, sometimes doesn't it seem overbearing to believe in magic," ACK.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.