Pride logo

Dakota's Heart

First Crush

By V.K. HubbardPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 5 min read
1

DAKOTA’S HEART

First Crush

by V.K. Hubbard

The alarm sounded incessantly jarring Dakota from sleep. She pushed the stop button on her phone to quiet it as she swung her legs over the side of the bed. Sitting up, she ran a hand through her long, auburn hair, moving it out of her face. Tonight, was the senior prom. She glanced over at the dress, still in its plastic bag, on the back of her door. Sighing, she wished she weren’t going with Jacob. She really didn’t have a choice not to. They had been going together all through high school. It was expected. No one knew they had actually broken up right before Christmas. She sighed again getting out of bed. Oh well, she thought. I have to keep up appearances. She was also aware Jacob wasn’t happy about their situation either. Throwing on her clothes, Dakota headed down to the barn. She figured she had time to get in a quick ride on Queenie before she had to shower and go to her appointments for her hair and makeup. She was lost in her thoughts as she entered the barn. She squealed when Audrey came up behind her.

“Heavens, Audrey! You scared the crap out of me! What are you doing here this morning? Don’t you have to get ready?” Dakota queried.

“No way!” Audrey replied. “I wouldn’t be caught dead at that fashion show. It is just an excuse for the popular people to show off how much money their mommy and daddy spent on their clothes and stuff.”

“Oh now. That’s not the way to think of it. It’s supposed to be a rite of passage. Or, at least, that is what my mom says. Besides, it won’t be any fun without you.”

“How can you say that?” Audrey asked. “You’ll be there with Jacob and your cheerleader friends. You won’t have time to miss me.”

“You’ve been my best friend since third grade!” Dakota said angrily. “Besides, you know that I’m not really running with that crowd anymore. You’re the only one who knows he and I aren’t together anymore.”

“What happened to the two of you anyway? You never told me why you broke up.”

Dakota walked over to Queenie’s stall and began running her hand down the big white mare’s nose. She spoke, keeping her eyes averted from Audrey’s, “Oh, you know. Same ole, same ole. He’s a big-time jock that turns into a big time jerk around his friends.”

Audrey smirked, “Dakota Cheyenne Morgan! How dare you lie to me!” she said heatedly. “I know you better than that! You’d have knocked him upside the head for pulling that crap with you and you know it. What’s the real reason?”

Dakota still couldn’t look Audrey in the eye. She responded quietly, “I’m in love with somebody else.”

“Ooooh! Do I know him?”

“Ummm…” Dakota began.

“Don’t hold back on me now,” Audrey urged.

“You can’t tell anyone. I don’t think this person feels the way I do,” Dakota turned her deep green eyes on Audrey’s blue ones. “She may not like me having these feelings for her.”

Audrey’s expression stayed impassive. The only thing that gave away her astonishment was her eyes widening slightly. “She?”

“Yes, she.”

“Who is it? It’s Yvonne, isn’t it?”

“Yvonne? Oh, heavens no!” Dakota looked at Audrey trying to search for the right way to tell her. When she couldn’t she just blurted out, “You.”

“Me? Seriously?”

“You won’t pull away from me or think badly of me, will you? I couldn’t stand it if you did,” Dakota pleaded.

Audrey moved over to the stall that housed Fireboy, her roan gelding. She chewed her lip as she considered how to respond.

“Say something. Anything. Please,” Dakota implored. “You don’t have to feel the same. I won’t do anything you don’t want me to do?”

Audrey turned and looked at Dakota, her eyes soft. She walked over to her, lifting her arms to frame her face. “Cody,” she began with her nickname for her. “When did you come to this realization? Why didn’t you say something sooner?”

“I was scared.”

“Of me?”

Audrey didn’t say anything. She moved closer, lowering her lips to Dakota’s slowly. She traced her lips with the tip of her tongue before dipping it inside to taste her.

Dakota sighed and wrapped her arms around Audrey. Tears of happiness streamed down her cheeks as she melted into the kiss. Her heart hammered in her chest as butterflies danced in her stomach.

Pulling back from the kiss, Audrey whispered, “I’ve waited so long to hear you say this. Do you have any idea how happy you’ve made me?” She kissed the tears from Dakota’s cheeks.

Taking her hand, Audrey led her to the ladder to the loft. Climbing up first, she had to duck quickly as a barn owl swooped in from its nightly hunt. She giggled as she pushed up into the loft, moving to the side to give Dakota room to come on up.

They marveled briefly at the beauty of the owl as they settled onto a pile of hay. Laying together in the early morning light, everything outside the barn was forgotten. They kissed and caressed each other while the owl watched over them.

Relationships
1

About the Creator

V.K. Hubbard

The youngest and only girl of four children, I owe my love of reading to my mother. She encouraged me to read throughout my life and is a voracious reader as well. As grew older, my love turned to a desire to emulate the writers I loved.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.