Pride logo

Boy George Take it like A Man

Book review

By RIKKI LA ROUGE (UK) (London)Published 5 months ago 3 min read
Like

Boy George’s autobiography is a great read. It was released in 1995 written by Boy George, of course. Basically, he tells his life story before Culture Club, in, after and solo. I loved reading his autobiography, in fact I had always wanted to read it, and I finally had a chance. To read the book is like you are sitting in a English pub with Boy George having a drink or two and he’s telling you how it was.

We learn about more members of his family for example Boy George reveals that his grandfather used to be a boxer. He also tells us that his mother had had a daughter before she started a family with Boy George’s father. Boy George is Irish and English. He talks about what is was like to come out as gay in a Irish catholic family in an English suburb.

Boy George always knew as he talks of himself “perennial square peg in a neighborhood of round holes”. When he realized he was not like the others he decided to head to London to gain his fortune and be around like minded individuals like him. He identified with the club kid scene in London like him.

To support himself and his emerging dreams and aspirations Boy George had found work as a fruit produce picker. His first musical gig had been with Bow Wow wow. However, his time in the group had been short lived. Ironically, after leaving the group the beginning of Culture Club had begun to take place. In his book, I actually learned that void George suffers from asthma. I did not know that. Obviously, there is strong British dialect coming through the book just to read every word he writes in the book it’s there and it’s cool as well. We learn about how he became a vegetarian. Boy George , Hari Krishna is the religion that Boy George famously associate himself with throughout the late 80s early 90s as well as Buddhism. Speaking of boy George’s dietary endeavors. He even put out a cookbook called karma cookbook. Karma cookbook is a book that I will review later on. I enjoyed reading boy George’s autobiography very much. In fact, I loved it so much that I wanted to read it again and again, which I did actually.

In the early 90s, Boy George went by the moniker Jesus loves you. This was during his time as a Hare Krishna. Of course we get everything that we already knew about Boy George and culture club, personal life and professional life but it is also interesting to read things that you didn’t know and there are a lot of interesting facts, and things that Boy George reveals about his life. Being ever the open book no pun intended boy George shares everything and anything about his life with us the fans and the reading public as a whole. In fact, not because he’s famous or an icon in music I find Boy George’s life really really really interesting.

If I went to a book club, and they asked us all to suggest a book, Boy George, take it like a man would be the one that I suggest that we read next. Also, if I was Oprah, I would put on my reading list too. Boy George does not shy away from his time in life where he used serious drugs, exclusively heroin. He also obviously talks about his relationship with culture club drummer Jon moss. Thanks for reading my review of Boy George’s autobiography Take it like a Man. Ciao.

IdentityPop CultureHistoryCulture
Like

About the Creator

RIKKI LA ROUGE (UK) (London)

Latin crossover artist. 57th annual Grammy award first round nomination, ballot artist, all music, guide, artist, and iHeartRadio. I’m with broadcast music, Inc., Universal music group, Interscope record via Interscope digital distribution

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Matej Hudec4 months ago

    When you can no longer access your bitcoin wallet, it is unfortunate.Cryptic Hacks was able to locate my wallet and provide me access to my bitcoins, I was overjoyed. A bitcoin recovery organization called Cryptic Hacks has assisted countless people in getting their stolen and lost bitcoins back. I was a victim of bitcoin ruse, and I’m extremely pleased that Cryptic Hacks supported me getting everything again. I wish to thank them for their excellent service and urge everyone to use them. You can contact cryptichacks by using: Email:cryptichackss@gmail dot com

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.