Pride logo

A Folk Tale

In Honor of Pride Month and my third child. A Gender and Race neutral, adventure.

By Diane AlbrightPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
A Folk Tale
Photo by James Lee on Unsplash

A Folk Tale

The sky is an early morning orange as the light crests the purple masa out at the skyline. Jackrabbit’s scurry and red-tailed hawk’s circle. The air is thick and sweet with chaparral in the warm breeze.

“Hey, what are you doing Babe?” Red Converse asks.

“What do you think I’m doing? I answer, looking down at my black boots. “You see the shovel in my hand?”

“Um, yeah, but what are you doing?”

“Grab that other shovel over there and find out!”

I scuffle my black boots to the graying shed and pull open the creaking doors. My boots thump on the wooden floor and I return momentarily, now with a big burlap sack in hand.

“Where are you going? questions Red Converse.

“I’m on a mission!” The dust stirs up, as my black boots stomp off into the trail less desert.

“Hey, now, wait up!” The faded Red Converse runs to catch up. “So, what’s in the sack?”

The sack wiggles and contorts, as it sways in rhythm, with the motions of the steady stride of the footsteps. Walking in boots, especially a good, sturdy pair of black, leather, army boots gives a person a sense of strength and purpose. You need a good, thick, sole to traverse the hot, rocky desert terrain.

A jumping Cholla Cactus has stuck itself into the heel of the red Converse. “Ouch, damn it! I asked you to wait up!” “Give me a minute, I need to stop. Let me sit and take a sip of water and get this sticker off me.”

“You really should get a pair of these boots if you’re going to be coming out here to do this sort of thing”. Stopping, I kick the dirt with my heal and take a long drink out of my Blue Klondike water bottle. I set the burlap sack down about 3 feet away. It squirms and rolls sideways towards my left foot, hissing.

“Yep, I’ve has these boots three, four years now, bought them for Eighty bucks at The Army Surplus on 6th and Church. Best investment I’ve ever made. In boots anyway. You really should get yourself a pair. Take good care of your feet. They will take care of you!” I laugh, remembering the time I broke my right phalanges out dancing one summer night, years ago. I had my dancing boots on that night and did not even realize my toes were broke till I took them boots off at the end of the evening.

“Well, are you going to tell me what’s in the sack, or not? Do you always have to be so mysterious and dramatic!” Red Converse drops the shovel, it clangs to the ground. The sack jolts, hisses and rattles.

“It’s getting freaking hot out here and we’ve been walking for hours, and miles. For what? To kill and bury whatever the hell ya got in that bag!”

“No, no, no! You got it all wrong my Dear. I’m not killing anything or burying anything. Just the opposite.” I take the bag and shake it vigorously. The distinct rattle sends chills up my spine as I loosen the drawstrings and toss the burlap wiggling heap as far from my boots as I can. Soon a long-forked tongue emerges, testing the vibrations in the air. Then two Onex eyes peer out. The head pushes the sack off and a long, thick greenish snake slithers away into the brush.

“I found this Green Mojave Rattler sunning in the road this morning. I didn’t want it to get run over. Green Mojave’s are becoming increasingly rare you know.” The beautiful serpent quickly disappears, it’s colors perfectly camouflaged by the brown branches and pale green leaves on the Ironwood bushes. I wipe the dust off my boots and the sweat off my brow.

The old Converse sneakers jump up and down. Laughing hysterically. “I don’t believe it. Yes, I do believe it. This is so totally you! Saving rattlesnakes! And me, following right along with you, not even knowing what I’m getting myself into!”

I square the toes of my boots with the dirty ole Converse. “Don’t you think it’s beautiful? Don’t you believe it’s worth saving?”

“Of course, oh yeah, of course. I totally get it. The whole circle of life, every living creature has a purpose and right to exist. The quantum universe and the unity of all things. I totally get it! And I get you! But what I don’t get is why did we bring the shovels?” the Converse laughs hysterically.

“Oh, I saw some endangered Pincushion Cactus on the side of the road. I am going to dig them up and transplant them all before the county comes and widens the road. They’re starting soon. The whole Sonoran Desert is in danger you know! At this rate of development, I doubt much of it will be left for my Grandchildren.”

“And you’re going to save it!” Perfect! I Love it!” declares the red Converse.

“Yes. I’m going to save as much of it as I can.”

“Are you going to help me?”

“You better get some boots!”

Identity
1

About the Creator

Diane Albright

I am a "Flower Child" growing wild. My roots are deep in the Mother Earth. I bask in the golden sunshine and drink in the rain. It is a long tumultuous road on the "Hero's Journey" to discover my true self, my purpose and passion.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.