Potent logo

How I Lost 20 lbs with Cannabis

Lose weight with Cannabis

By Nadia TapiaPublished 7 years ago 3 min read
Like

About four years ago, I was having a hard time trying to lose weight. The funny part of this story was the fact that I use to be a fitness coach for two years but due to stress from that workplace, I managed to gain 20 pounds. It is true that stress can either help you lose weight or gain it and with my luck, I gained. The stress came from my boss. She wasn’t a nice person and would make fun of our clients that were trying to lose weight. I took it upon myself to make our clients feel like they belong but I had to leave because that place was making my life harder and I didn’t want to continue to gain weight.

For two years straight I would work out three to five times a week and I even changed my eating habits but still I was having a hard time losing weight. I hit a plateau at 145 lbs. My weight would not go down. I tried many different types of workouts but nothing would change my weight. I knew I had to do something because my weight was starting to get to me. I wasn't happy with myself and I knew if I didn't change my ways I would go back to depression.

One night I remember I was on Facebook about two years ago and I found an article about how cannabis can help you lose weight. At first, I thought it was a joke because cannabis is supposed to make you lazy but I did some research for myself and found out that it can help you lose weight. So, I thought why not give it a try?

I'm glad I did. I would eat an edible that was Sativa based or smoke a bowl which must be a Sativa strain before my workout and I noticed a change right away. Sativa strains are the type of strains that give you energy instead of making you feel tired or sleepy. I was more relaxed and was able to work out a little harder than before. The weight started to come off. I then asked my boyfriend if we could start going on hikes. Each time we'd go I would eat an edible that was only 25 mg and it just made my hikes that much better. I used to get tired from hiking for just an hour and now it takes about three to four hours before I even feel tired at all.

I went from 149 lbs back down to 124 lbs within a year. Mind you I'm only 5'4. I haven't been this weight since my high school years which was about ten years ago. I have more energy now and no longer feel like I'm depressed. I can tell you for a fact that cannabis helped me lose 20 lbs and it has helped me keep it off. I eat more now than before and I work out better due to cannabis. If I didn't have cannabis in my life I believe I would have gone down a dark path again. That path was depression and I’m so grateful to find a way to lose weight and keep it off.

So if anyone is having a difficult time losing weight and feels like giving up, don't give up. I highly recommend trying an edible that has Sativa strain or smoking a bowl, joint or blunt before and after your workout. If it can help me lose weight and keep that weight off I believe it can help others as well. I hope my story shows you that cannabis can do much more for our bodies and it can change lives because it changed mine.

healthculture
Like

About the Creator

Nadia Tapia

28 years old. Inspiring Novelist and College Student.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.