Potent logo

Cannabis pipe smoke screens: Is brass or silver better?

One screen is flimsy, one sturdy (and tastes a bit like metal)

By David HeitzPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1
Here, two different types of cannabis pipe screens are shown. Which do you use when?

Are brass or silver marijuana pipe screens better?

Let’s get down to brass tacks about brass screens.

And silver ones.

What the heck is the difference?

What once may have seemed like a trivial dilemma suddenly matters a whole lot.

Medical cannabis patients want answers about such mysteries. I want to know.

And this truly remains a mystery, it appears.

At my dispensary the other day, the budtender commented about this when I ordered screens. I order them a lot. I want a fresh one for almost every new bowl.

Of course, I realize not many people use the pipes with screens anymore. But I do. I am old school about most things.

“I’m not even sure what the difference is between the silver and the brass,” he commented. “Do you?”

I acknowledged that I didn’t and commented it seems no one does.

For years, all head shops have just thrown the screens into the bag when you buy them. You don’t even know if you’re getting brass or silver. For the longest time, I didn’t know silver existed.

‘Silver’ screens conduct heat better

I prefer silver most of the time, but not always.

The science is simple – the “silver” better conducts heat. For the record, I’m quite certain they are not really silver (in fact mine say on the package they are stainless steel, but not all do), nor are the brass screens really brass. We’re talking colors, not metallurgy.

The discussion online regarding silver and brass screens seems to sidestep seriousness.

I know many people hate screens and pipes period. Or they prefer a glass pipe.

Or concentrates.

Or edibles.

I’m still an old-fashioned pipe guy, even after trying all the other methods. Flower in a metal bowl with a screen is fine by me.

It’s old school, but it also keeps my tolerance lower as opposed to jumping into concentrates. That means more money in my pocket.

Let’s face it. Cannabis is not cheap. I think insurance should pay for it if you have certain conditions like PTSD.

Why I prefer silver screens

I prefer silver screens because I tend to smoke sticky dense Indica strains for my PTSD. The silver screens are much sturdier.

The indica strains are denser. When you hit a bowl lined with a silver screen, it heats up quickly and you get a much better hit.

At least that’s my opinion.

The downside is burning up your bowl or “jumping the bowl,” where you think your weed has another hit and you inhale ash and metal. It’s yucky.

This happens less often with brass screens, but they turn gross really fast. At my dispensary at least, they are the same price as the silver ones.

But the brass screens clog with resin faster than the silver ones do. If you are someone who tops their flower with concentrate, don’t use brass screens. They’ll gunk up after a bowl or two.

But now and then I’ll use brass, too

I will use brass now and then, and I keep both on hand.

For me, I prefer to use brass if I am smoking some sativa with thinner, less-dense leaves. I use the brass because I don’t want to “jump the bowl.”

But I don’t smoke sativa very often. One of my favorite sativa strains is Pineapple Express.

Another strain for which I use a brass screen is black cherry soda. It seems some strains don’t taste right with a hint of burning metal. The brass screens seem to conduct less heat.

It all comes down to a matter of choice when it comes to screens, but I hope this helps. Feel free to share your thoughts on silver v. brass in the comments.

Finally, a word to the wise: Don’t throw away your dispensary bags without first taking your screens out.

I suspect it is easy to do.

I’ve done it. Many times.

I go through a lot of screens because I like heavy, dense, sticky weed. It is best known as the Kush variety.

I’m a lover of all things Kush

I learned right away that all things “Kush” are the medicine I need. Lavender Kush, Huckleberry Kush, tangerine Kush, banana Kush.

If it’s Kush it brings relief. Always.

But what is Kush?

Peaceful plant grows native on Afghan-Pakistani border

“Kush” actually is stoner vernacular that refers to a variety of indica plants that grow wild along the Afghan-Pakistani border. Leafily, the Bible of cannabis, explains Kush generally can be broken down into five varieties: Bubba, Purple, OG, Skywalker and Master.

I have not tried the last two but will very soon. I know the dispensary has several Skywalker strains.

Kush indica plants are short, squatty, and, apparently, easier than most to grow, several sites explain.

In a nutshell, Kush strains refer to those heavy indicas that motivate stoners to save the world. These strains induce profundity, introspection, appetite, and finally, sleep.

Kicking back and enjoying life on the Kush

The Kush nug is a mighty little nug. These nugs tend to be tiny, but dense, heavy, and powerful. Never underestimate the power of the punch that lies behind a Kush nug.

Kush isn’t just a type of cannabis, I think it’s fair to say it’s a type of cannabis consumer. You can find a lot of “Kush” apparel directed at people who pride themselves in being heavy cannabis users.

That’s not to say “Kush-tistas” are typical tie-dye stoners. They are, however, a group who openly admits they enjoy life better stoned — sex, music, food…everything.

I wonder if those of us who enjoy Kush and the Kush life — the so-called beach bums, those who put experiences ahead of “things”– I wonder if many of us have just been through so much, we have decided that life is better stoned.

But this story is about screens for your marijuana pipe.

Remember, silver screens work better for Kush. Brass works better for thinner-leaved sativas and strains where you don’t want to risk the metallic taste.

product review
1

About the Creator

David Heitz

I am a journalist with more than 30 years' experience. Here at Vocal, I write mainly for Potent, Vocal's cannabis magazine. I have a PTSD diagnosis and a medical cannabis card. I have lived in a penthouse and also experienced homelessness.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.