Poets logo

Zombies Get Schooled

A Halloween Rendering

By AlexPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Zombies Get Schooled
Photo by Andrew Amistad on Unsplash

The day was drawing to a close;

Spitballs launched onto my toes.

“School is out,” the teacher sang.

Books were closed; the last bell rang.

Suddenly, there came a cry.

”Classmates, you must say, “goodbye!”

Corpses staggered to the room,

And as the monsters swayed with doom,

“Far be it from us to boast,

But every one of you is toast.”

A gasp went up from all us youth.

“Excuse me, Sir, but that’s uncouth.”

With these words I ran amuck;

Within my head was one thought stuck.

For everyone knows who the undead revere:

A great many composers who all play by ear.

So to the auditorium I lept in one bound;

The zombies that followed, on my footsteps did pound.

My teacher and classmates had now joined the ranks.

There was none left but I in that hall, dark and dank.

I peered from the stage at the spectators all round,

Who gathered for sport, and made unpleasant sound.

A champion was chosen who rose from their midst;

Foam hounded his jowls, and blood dropped from his lips.

The dueling pianos then were rolled out;

A half-dead audience roared with a shout.

Our fingers flew over the keys with much glee,

As the zombie and I played Pachelbel’s Cannon in D.

My opponent and I battled all through the night;

I, wizard of the ivories, and he - what a sight!

But the scoundrel was beaten, and victory was mine.

The zombies all fled, leaving school far behind.

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Alex

Just a 20-somethings with big dreams, a cup o‘ Joe, and a pen.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.