Poets logo

Your Skin

Prayed For This

By I Am Sav ReneePublished 8 months ago 2 min read

waking up to the sunshine

over my shoulder there you laid

brown skin you know what it is

night before I was kind of sick

back and forth no agreement made

staring at your lips and skin

in my mind was all I could think

past experiences I wasn't delirious

listening about her that ish struck a nerve

but your lips looked delicious wasn't paying attention to a word

your brown skin, your accent,

I want to hug you give me a second

let me refocus, can I get your attention?

who is she, I don't feel like guessing

I'm trying to forgive you, I'm trying to see it through

Putting me in the yard in a private house to keep me close

I am so disturbed, cause I feel like I need to let this go,

got me in situations thinking its one thing and realizing its someone

hate looking at your skin

cause that's the only way your going to win

despising all these southern niggas

yea I got a crush on you

but I aint saying nothing

just listening to every word you say

the thought the feelings can't go away

head over heart decisions can make a way

listening to your mom tell me you don't need no kids

but you trying to show my baby some love

my heart melts when I see these things

looking at your brown skin,

I knew it was an illusion

and I'm trying to stay out of the confusion

studio apartments, new v's, and side hustles

let me get out of here

taking my baby, put my guard up

I don't trust people let me get out the way

your skin kind of fucked me up

can't stare at you that kind of way

got a little sixpack, with your pants sagging, young thang

man this ish is distracting

but your skin got my heart singing

I want to tell you how I'm feeling

my mind won't let me tell you

fear of heartbreak, even though I prayed for this

someone to get close to, who would love me

it's just something about your skin

love poems

About the Creator

I Am Sav Renee

Seeing life from a different perspective.

All your ❤️‍🔥 & 💰is appreciated 🫶🏾

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)8 months ago

    Sweet one♥️💯📝😉

I Am Sav ReneeWritten by I Am Sav Renee

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.