Poets logo

Your Instructions: Write Everywhere

Not kidding. E-v-e-r-y-w-h-e-r-e.

By The Dani WriterPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
2
Your Instructions: Write Everywhere
Photo by Sincerely Media on Unsplash

Writing all over the place is a necessary step.

Notes on napkins and missives on memo board.

Take your favorite pen or any instrument that makes a mark,

being particularly careful to leave nothing unwritten.

When your ink has touched the walls and the bed linens,

arms and ankles,

the world may deem you crazed.

Not so.

You are a creator whose handiwork has bridged the gap between reality and fantasy.

Scripted lines across the floor in chalk

that people stoop and stretch at weird angles to read,

about how you lost you felt

when my image disappeared through the departure gate bound for the busy city.

I couldn’t understand your refusal when I so wanted you to join me.

But you had unfinished surfaces calling out at all hours for felt-tips

and feelings that could not keep waiting if they tried.

Late nights and early mornings find those on fire with passion still writing

as if the words will exhaust themselves before finishing what we need to say.

There’s loads of paper here.

Yet I succumb to feeling adrift,

without an ounce of furniture in my new apartment,

already missing our silent midnight messages spilling over our tee-shirts

and dripping off our many moods.

I must not stop writing.

Might end up terrifying the neighbors,

so I take my Sharpie to the wall

and sink my vocabulary into a broken lease on the very first night,

and a mind soothed by sentences.

(Original publication from Scars Publications 'Down in the Dirt' Magazine, June 2021 Issue.)

By Raphael Schaller on Unsplash

A heartfelt thank you for taking the time to read my poem. It means so much to me! You are more than welcome to read more of my work here.

If you would like to demonstrate support of me or any of the Vocal Creators, please like and share our work. It encourages us to keep doing what we love doing.

And just in case you were wondering, tips from all written pieces are direct deposited into my bank account and are valued highly, irrespective of the amount, but only if you can manage them. The joy a writer receives from being tipped is from having feelings of acknowledgment and validation. "My written voice resonated with someone!" That is what it means for me and many others. I am just as joyous when you share my work!

Feel free to get in touch on Instagram or Twitter @thedaniwriter

art
2

About the Creator

The Dani Writer

Explores words to create worlds with poetry, nonfiction, and fiction. Writes content that permeates then revises and edits the heck out of it. Interests: Freelance, consultations, networking, rulebook-ripping. UK-based

Medium

FB

Twitter

Insta

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.