Poets logo

your glow

prose about him

By Poppy Published 4 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - February 2024
46
your glow
Photo by Sanni Sahil on Unsplash

This is my gratitude, shaped like a secret, buried in a silence you will never hear.

I was a cloudless sky with thunder rolling beneath my skin. You still inhaled my presence like it was pouring rain. Like maybe you’d been buried in drought up until then.

I thought love was all about the chance of reciprocity, but I admired you like a full moon. I knew I would never be able to hold you. All I hoped was for your light to fall upon my face, illuminate the parts of my personality I had swallowed. And it did.

I will never forget the tiny moments of reprieve you gifted me, how they grew in the palm of my hands when you weren’t looking. How they meant more to me than you will ever know.

I will search every sky for you, whether you are full or waxing or waning. I will tilt my head towards your glow and hope the night sky is gentler than me.

Proselove poems
46

About the Creator

Poppy

‘Wasted Love' available to purchase here in paperback and eBook format.

Find me on:

Instagram. Facebook. Tiktok. Pinterest. Twitter. Medium. Patreon.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  5. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (33)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 3 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳

  • “I will never forget the tiny moments of reprieve you gifted me, how they grew in the palm of my hands when you weren’t looking, how they meant more than you will ever know” I think I read that stanza ten times over before I finished the rest of the poem. Amazing Poppy

  • Shirley Belk3 months ago

    totally lovely!!!!

  • Teresa Renton3 months ago

    This one sided admiration is delivered with stunning lyricism. I loved the hope for a gentle night sky. Congratulations for TS 🥰

  • Novel Allen3 months ago

    Such a beautiful ode. Brings essences of roses and peppermint dipped in joy and wonder. Congrats TS.

  • Sara Wilson4 months ago

    Beautiful work! Congrats on the well deserved top story :)

  • Gargie S Anand4 months ago

    Oh my, that's beautiful!

  • Great job!!! Top Story… bit of a habit!

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Brilliantly written!!! Congratulations on Top Story!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Mackenzie Davis4 months ago

    Holy moly. A love poem, but I also feel that it's melancholic, a poem of love lost due to the speaker's own actions. This just about ripped my heart out. "I was a cloudless sky with thunder rolling beneath my skin. You still inhaled my presence like it was pouring rain. Like maybe you’d been buried in drought up until then." --- A cloudless sky with thunder rolling...That is incredibly deep. A distant storm? A daytime storm (given the final line of the poem)? Thunder, like yearning. And to inhale a presence, a rainless presence, as though it was pouring rain? To be thirsty for a deluge, but instead satiated by the promise of one instead...That sounds like someone investing in another person, like their love is what they need, but they might need to wait a little longer to get it. This is so good, Poppy. So good. ❤️

  • Merrie Sanders4 months ago

    Wow. This is beautiful.

  • sleepy drafts4 months ago

    Congratulations on Top Story!! This is so beautifully done. ❤️❤️

  • Congrats on the top story! Well earned!

  • How did I miss this? Congratulations

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    Congrats on the TS.

  • Paul Stewart4 months ago

    Back to say congrats! Top Story - deserved!

  • Suze Kay4 months ago

    Top story babayyyy!!! Well-deserved 🥰

  • Alexander McEvoy4 months ago

    Congrats on your Top Story, Poppy! This was an awesome poem and I'm so happy it's getting the recognition it deserves!

  • Brin J.4 months ago

    A poem with a metaphor about the moon <3. I love both of those things so much, and the way you wove the two together to express your feelings is just absolutely breath-taking. Sad, yet touching.

  • Paul Stewart4 months ago

    Ah, beautiful. This reminds me of the more positive aspects of your book. But...can see the development in your abilities and skills. Wonderful work, Miss Thepoet!

  • I felt this so deep in my heart! So poignantly beautiful!

  • Sweet poem Poppy. “I thought love was all about the chance of reciprocity, but I admired you like a full moon. I knew I would never be able to hold you.” Great lines.

  • Such longing, yet filled with joyous & thankful grace. Beautifully done, Poppy.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.