Poets logo

Your Favorite Color Will Be Green

A Poem for those who are neither

By J.D. RosePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
3
Your Favorite Color Will Be Green
Photo by Denise Johnson on Unsplash

Your favorite color will be green

Not a tomboy

But a boy of expectations

Not pretty or wispy enough for pink.

Blocks and paints

Of all the colors

Free to choose:

Pink or Blue

But not you.

I knew I was a girl.

It didn’t stick.

I tried it on,

It wasn’t blue.

I tried it.

Green would have to do.

Resigned to green

A camouflage

Not olive drab

But neon, Kelly,

LOOK AT ME!

No don’t

But maybe, please?

If I can be the sun,

A sunset brewed in vibrant washes?

Warm summer sun

As seen through resting eyes?

Then look.

I’ll take them all,

See life as light

A prism, broken into beauty.

Broken into the colors I will be.

I’ll be them all.

But not just green.

social commentary
3

About the Creator

J.D. Rose

J.D. Rose (she/her) is an artist and author. She got her start in awful rhyming poetry as a child and has since expanded her horizons to the world of novels, short stories, essays, and even the ocassional awful poem that doesn't rhyme.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.