Poets logo

Your eyes inspired a love poem

a "stream of consciousness" poem

By Alexandria StanwyckPublished 4 months ago 2 min read
2
Your eyes inspired a love poem
Photo by Jordan Whitfield on Unsplash

It was your eyes I fell for first, which was noteworthy since I struggle with looking at people's eyes on a usual basis. Green pools that reminded me of the plants sitting on my desk at work. Are they still alive? I haven't watered them in over a week. They're succulents, so they must be fine. I hope you won't think of me that way, just a plant that only needs watering every once in a while. But what was I talking about? Oh, right, your eyes, or more what I fell for. It's terrifying. Falling that is. I'm not sure if you want to catch me or leave me to drown in your eyes. People speak of drowning like it is a good thing, but I think it can be dangerous. Your eyes start to become so all-encompassing that I forget to look out for the sharks. But I shouldn't have to worry about flaws that will bite at me, tearing pieces of me away until I am nothing, should I? I am supposed to be safe in your eyes, right? I am supposed to trust what is reflected in your eyes, right? They are windows, peeks into your inner person, your truth. So, please tell me now, was falling for your eyes first a mistake or the first right thing I did with you? Because if it was wrong, I want to come up for air now. If it is right, swim with me as we fall into each other eyes. We'll be each other's air in this deep beyond they call love.

***

So, I am a sucker for green eyes, which inspired this poem. Did you know that they are some of the rarest color in eyes in the world? The other thing that inspired this poem was noticing the stream of consciousness label under the Poets community. I have written pieces in the past in this format, but always felt like they were supposed to be written in stanzas, so I would adjust it accordingly.

I guess what I am trying to say is this, thank you Vocal for adding more labels under the Poets community. They are broadening my horizons and educating me at the same time about how big the world of poetry is.

Stream of Consciousnessperformance poetrylove poemsFree Verse
2

About the Creator

Alexandria Stanwyck

My inner child screams joyfully as I fall back in love with writing.

I am on social media! (Discord, Facebook, Instagram, and TikTok.)

instead of therapy poetry and lyrics collection is available on Amazon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carroll4 months ago

    Now, I am wondering what color is your eyes . Nice creation piece . Very entertaining read

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.