Poets logo

You Wouldn't Get It

it's just a switch

By Brenton FPublished 3 months ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
4
I stole/repurposed/liberated a fully unhatched meme and raised it like it were one of my own

i sniggered behind my hand

as an amusing thought

flew through my mind

immediately

right there

right then

you went on the defence

and demanded that i explain

the things i did

the things i said

somethings i said

(in my best muffin narration voice over voice)

somethings

(i sniggered again and snot came out my nose)

somethings

don’t stand up

won’t stand up

always flopped

need to be propped

somethings

wont

stand up

to your nit picky scrutiny

or even supply

a readers digest explanation

such as the one you require

i know what i meant

i know what i mean

your tongue tying glare

that’s enough for me

i know what i meant

i know what i mean

mouthing melted words

that only i have seen

you wouldn’t get it

you wouldn’t know

you couldn’t tell

not gonna show

i'm not gonna tell you

not gonna explain

no why where or how

no elaborate no plain

no exclamation point

no bullet point

no power point

there is no point

i have neither

the breath

nor the time

to share with you

the things that amuse me

the things that make me smile

these fragile things

of the broken time

instead i would prefer

to sit and muse to myself

because i know

sometimes

i can turn the world off

for a second

Free Verse
4

About the Creator

Brenton F

It's just a token of my extreme - Frank Zappa

- - -

I have an eBook, a collection of my favourite pieces

Link to Amazon

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Belleabout a month ago

    Excellent poetry! I love the use of broken sentences in free verse!!

  • Somethings are best left unsaid or unshared. We don't have to explain ourselves to anyone! Loved your poem!

  • Heather Hubler3 months ago

    I loved this so much!! I felt it deeply. You are my favorite poet :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.