Poets logo

You Tried it

A childhood taken *trigger warning*

By Latoya Giles Published 4 months ago 1 min read
5

So innocent I was, a smiling little girl...

You TRIED it!

Only seven years old when you entered my world...

You TRIED it!

I thought you were my friend. "How lucky am I?" I thought.

You TRIED it!

This was before all the pain and sadness you brought.

You TRIED it!

"Let's dance." you suggested and turned on a song.

You TRIED it!

Face to face, chest to chest we were. I didn't like it. I wanted to go.

You TRIED it!

I said, "I don't want to dance anymore, let's stop." You said no...

You TRIED it!

For years I held it inside along with guilt and shame.

You TRIED it!

I am a survivor, now you say MY name!

You TRIED it... but you failed.

Stream of Consciousnesssad poetryinspirationalFamilyfact or fictionexcerptsCONTENT WARNINGBalladart
5

About the Creator

Latoya Giles

I'm just a single mom tryna make it. Come with me on my journey through life in writing... "A dream deferred is not a dream denied"

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Test4 months ago

    Outstanding!

  • Rowan Finley 4 months ago

    My heart hurts for you and the pain you experienced. I feel compassion for you and I’m so sorry you experienced this in your past.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.