Poets logo

"You Talk White"

The color of character.

By Joe PattersonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

The consequences of being Black and talking right

is hearing everybody tell you that you talk "white".

It almost leads you to a path of belligerence

when someone hits you with this silly phrase of ignorance.

So good speech isn't a trait of me and my brothers?

We talk good so that means we're not being our color.

Did it occur to you that maybe you were carrying hype

That suggest Black people are just stereotypes?

What's next? I "act" white because I'm not a felon

or because my favorite fruit isn't watermelon.

Maybe because writing is my favorite activity

and not endulging myself in ratchetivity.

What if I told you this "white" talking object

was a little ghetto boy from the projects.

Wanna know what made me this way?

It was my life there that made me be this way.

"You talk white, you act white". That's what they say to me.

Living in self created mental slavery.

A unique soul is what lives behind this color

And the way I talk is not what defines my color.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Joe Patterson

Hi I'm Joe Patterson. I am a writer at heart who is a big geek for film, music, and literature, which have all inspired me to be a writer. I rap, write stories both short and long, and I'm also aspiring to be an author and a filmmaker.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.