Poets logo

You Saw Me

And You Loved Me First

By M.J. CarlockPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
You Saw Me
Photo by Zachary Kadolph on Unsplash

I was nervous and alone,

Didn't know I was in need of a home,

But then you came,

And made my life complete,

Which, I must confess, was no easy feat.

You weren't detoured,

By the past and histories galore,

Instead you met me at the door,

And invited me into your,

Heart to explore.

No hesitations or reservations,

No fear of ramification,

Even though some thought you in derision,

You fought against the opposition,

Confident in your decision.

I had a hard time letting others in,

Steely eyes and tilted chin,

Yet you chiseled down the walls I'd built,

Rid myself of former guilt,

Only you, with your besotted grin,

Could convince me to try and love again.

Because when I see that look in your eyes,

I know everything will be alright,

It pacifies my tears, calms all my fears,

Fills me with peace on the inside,

Then again, I'm not surprised.

'Cause when I'm with you, I feel free,

Like everything I want to be,

And when you get down on one knee,

My heart will dance in jubilee,

And I'll spend an eternity,

Wrapped within your love for me.

love poems
1

About the Creator

M.J. Carlock

I find that words are powerful; regardless of their form, they carry influence over our lives, and we must wield their power with both wisdom and heart.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.