Poets logo

You Remind Me

Your Remind Me (of water)

By Debbi LonmonPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Top Story - December 2022
43

You remind me of water

Maybe because you told me you like to swim

But I think it's more than that.

Sometimes I look into your depth

Only to frown at my own reflection

Frustrated because I wanted to see deeper

Sometimes I look into your depth

Embracing this fascination

Of getting just below the surface

To your safety nets.

You remind me of the moon

Maybe because you told me you like to keep your distance

But I think it's more than that.

Sometimes I look for you in the night sky

Only to wonder why the evening is so cloudy

Irrational because I wanted to see the universe.

Sometimes I look for you in the night sky

Losing myself in the stars

The planets and the distance of your energy.

You remind me of the sun

Maybe because you told me you like the outdoors

But I think it's more than that.

Sometimes it's so bright

I cannot look directly into the glare

Bothered because I can feel the heat but I cannot touch it.

Sometimes it's so bright it lights up the parts of me

That are trying to belong to you.

love poems
43

About the Creator

Debbi Lonmon

I am a musician/songwriter and practicing story teller.

I also love poetry and creative writing.

It's wonderful to be part of a group like this. Wish I'd joined sooner:-)

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (30)

Sign in to comment
  • Misty Crawfordabout a year ago

    What a poetic interpretation of entanglement. Beautiful!

  • Jollyoddbod Poetryabout a year ago

    Simply beautiful. My heart resonates with a familiar ache. You have a gift, thank you for sharing it.

  • Lydia Lichtiabout a year ago

    This was masterfully written. I loved how I was able to understand and even relate to what you were writing, even though the piece was so poetically ambiguous.

  • Conor Darrallabout a year ago

    This is gorgeous, and I found it spoke so truthfully. Subbed and hearted!

  • Payal Motlaabout a year ago

    The ending was beautiful

  • Kimabout a year ago

    Beautifully done

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    Easily brings the reader in and allows them to personally connect with the poem

  • Poppy about a year ago

    Absolutely gorgeous poem

  • Sims Locklearabout a year ago

    Love the structure of the piece and how it flowed. Could have easily become boring and repetitive but you kept it engaging. “I can feel the heat but I cannot touch it” Well put. The longing is palpable.

  • Thayrileabout a year ago

    Nice 👍

  • Annelise Lords about a year ago

    You remind me of the sun. These tree are humans best friends. Lol. Love this piece.

  • Annelise Lords about a year ago

    You remind me of the moon. Another beautiful thing.

  • Annelise Lords about a year ago

    You remind me of water And water is life. Bbbeeeaaauuutttiiifffuuulll!

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Hannah Mooreabout a year ago

    I really like this, it's brilliant.

  • Kendall Defoe about a year ago

    I am very impressed by this.

  • Gabriel Huizengaabout a year ago

    This is incredible- thank you so much for sharing it!

  • Autumnabout a year ago

    I could really picture this poem! Great work

  • Dr. Alexandra Simondabout a year ago

    Beautiful imagery! good job :)

  • Gina B.about a year ago

    This feels so real to me, it almost hurts a bit! Beautiful.

  • JBazabout a year ago

    So emotional, and touching.

  • Oh my goodness! This was so beautiful and there was so much of depth in each line! So many emotions! I loved it!

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    Spectacular poem. The emotions mixed with intellect are piercing 🥰

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    This is brilliant. So many emotions, fears and expectations wrapped into a beautifully flowing heart song

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Beautiful poem, excellent work! :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.