Poets logo

You're Special

Special Person

By Emilee RiveraPublished about a year ago 2 min read
Like

You said hello in a message, I laughed and told you that your name reminded me of a television show, and you laughed and said you get that alot, but loved when I told you.

You see, we didn’t have to say hi or hello, you were already special. We had been friends for a long time, and when it came down to it, you told me you were leaving due to reasons that I couldn’t control, but you.

You, I barely knew you, I barely knew you and your smile made me smile, your laugh made me laugh, butterflies flipped and flapped. We sometimes stayed up all night talking, and you told me bits and pieces of your life that you probably told everyone but they meant something to me. Words exchanged in the dead of night, that we could pretend didn’t mean anything in the morning.

Come the morning, we did everything again, it was a daily routine. At night, when I slept, I imagined that we break rules, do things our own way, travel the world, to leave our traces behind, behind so we could forget the world. I know this feeling, I’ve felt it before but that was different cause the other one walked out the door. What’s so special about you, you always stay true even when you are feeling some sort of blue. It is so hard to find a person especially like you that’s why I’m so willing to do what no other would. When it’s all said and done and it came down to the end, I’m willing to stick by you through the thick and the thin.

Embracing this moment, time was nonexistent, captivated and locked on could never look away every time those stars shine you know I’ll find a way to make your heart mine, that was what I had in my mind, it was almost like a mission. Outside it can feel so divided but I confided that it’s never with you, I could write all the reasons I’m delighted to see the way you brighten the feeling in a room, it’s never too late to tell you how I feel acting out in love is more than words make real.

Special person, if I were you I’d pay no attention to admonitions, made somewhat out of your words and somewhat out of mine. A collaboration. I do not believe a word I have said, except some, except I think of you.

performance poetrylove poemsexcerpts
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.