Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

You're Right, I Break Your Heart

And I Do It In The Name Of Love.

By Carol TownendPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
4
You're Right, I Break Your Heart
Photo by Jamie Street on Unsplash

I tell you off when you do too much

Because I know you'll put yourself in

more pain.

I tell you you're loved, even when you say

"I'm not lovable,"

Because I mean it when I say you are.

I still love you, when you get mad because

I know deep down, you're mad at yourself,

Not me.

I break your heart when I won't let you do

certain things.

Only because I know when you're hurting,

Even when you're not telling.

I pull you up when you want to stay in the darkness,

Because I know the light is where you'll find happiness.

I hold you tight when you tell me your

'Horrible, A bastard, An Idiot, A knobhead, Useless, and a Waste of Space,'

Because you're none of those things,

You're just in pain, and feeling ashamed.

You get angry with me for nothing,

And I sit there and listen to you ranting;

When you are calm,

I hold your hand,

And I tell you that you are something.

I break your heart when I don't agree

with all of the bad things, you call yourself.

The one thing you don't understand is that

I can see these bad things are not you.

You find it upsetting that I see through the lies

that this horrible pain has taught you,

But the pain is not you,

you are you,

So, when I break your heart by disagreeing,

Remember, I'd rather be true to you.

When I break your heart;

I do it in the name of love.

social commentarysad poetrylove poemsheartbreakCONTENT WARNING
4

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran7 months ago

    I totally agree. I don't like to sugar coat things and I'm always brutally honest. Loved your poem!

  • Arslan7 months ago

    nice way to start a day

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.