Poets logo

You only like me when it's raining

(This is about a dog)

By Darby S. FisherPublished 24 days ago 1 min read
5

You only like me when it's raining,

When you're hiding from the lightening,

When the thunder is loudly crashing,

You hide under my feet.

.

You're always waiting,

On the other side of the door.

You're too big to ignore

When you take up pacing.

.

With your tail between your legs,

Your eyes reflect your dreads,

And then you ask me kindly,

"Can you stop the water for me?"

.

But when the sky is clear,

You don't want me near,

Always telling me to let you be,

With a deep-belly groan.

You roll your eyes as you moan,

"That's enough love, please."

.

You only like me when it's raining,

You cling to my side.

Because you know, dear,

I love you at all times.

There is no limit,

And hardly what I'd call conditions,

When it comes to me loving you.

.

Before and after the storm,

I'm happy to keep you warm.

Lay right at my feet;

Please, come sit next to me.

.

Your big ears and soft face

And darling brown eyes,

Always have a place

In my home, and in my heart.

Familylove poems
5

About the Creator

Darby S. Fisher

Young and tired writer of all sorts of things.

Adventure fantasy: Skeletons: Book One

Horror fantasy: Lonely Forest

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Angie the Archivist 📚🪶24 days ago

    This is so adorable, just like your doggo! Love: ‘ With your tail between your legs, Your eyes reflect your dreads, And then you ask me kindly, "Can you stop the water for me?"

  • L.C. Schäfer24 days ago

    This is so lovely, hope it gets TS

  • Awww, this was so adorable! Loved your poem!

  • Carol Townend24 days ago

    That is beautiful.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.