Poets logo

You Lost Me

A Frank Confession in an Epistolary Poem

By Rae Fairchild (MRB)Published about a year ago 1 min read
1
You Lost Me
Photo by Susan Weber on Unsplash

Dear 21st Century Poems (or what constitutes one these days),

Listen up, modern poetry. We need to have “the talk.” I don’t mind obscurity. I can think outside the box, and the shipping container in which it is housed. And I will admit that I do enjoy, once in a while that is, to gingerly walk out on a thin tree limb. Sometimes, I even step right up to the edge of insanity.

But eventually there comes a point of no return. This is the moment in time, when a fish has run so much line, that you can not reel it back in. The only way out is really out there, and you go for it. I mean you truly go for it.

Like a little lemming, you lead me off the cliff. Down we tumble, my vision a blur. Zipping past my periphery, concepts fly well over my head. I don’t know what I just saw. But what I do know is that the ground is fast approaching. And, wait, was that a real word? Let me go grab my dictionary, the unabridged one I use as a doorstop to my brain. Furiously leafing through, I try to find my way.

When, SLAM! We come to the end of your poem. I face-plant hard on the page, bugged-eyed with blank stare. Oh Lord, I feel, confused that is, sure as hell. Because you lost me, I don’t know how many lines up.

Sincerely, an old-fashioned poet (caught in today’s less than mediocre time)

social commentaryart
1

About the Creator

Rae Fairchild (MRB)

I love to write; putting pen to paper fills my heart and calms my soul!

Rae Fairchild is my pen name. (Because why not? Pseudonyms are cool!)

I do publish elsewhere under my real name, Mary Rae Butler. (Fairchild, an old family surname.)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Rulam Dayabout a year ago

    Here, here! I’m right with you. I feel the same way as your poem. Funny and so, so true! Well crafted~

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.