Poets logo

You lost me

when you stopped caring

By Gail S.Published 2 years ago 1 min read
1
You lost me
Photo by Cherry Laithang on Unsplash

YOU left me

in the hospital

and went to bed.

YOU didn’t care

that I died 3 times

and 3 times was brought back.

YOU knowingly chose

to throw your hands up

and wrap yourself in sweet dreams,

while I fought for my life.

YOU said “That’s what happens

when you smoke weed!”

YOU didn’t listen

when I told you I didn’t know

it was laced.

YOU didn’t care

when the doctor said

there was more PCP

than THC in my bloodstream.

YOU blamed ME

for being “irresponsible”.

The analogy would be,

a girl getting her drink

laced at the club

and you saying “It was her fault

for being there.”

YOU put no blame

on the person who committed

the crime

but rather the person affected

by their action.

When I needed you most

YOU turned away.

Another man was by my side

another man held my hand

another man got me through it

and twice…that other man brought me back from death.

THAT man was my savior

THAT man is my angel

I found love with THAT man.

I lost YOU when you stopped working

on everything

your life

yourself

our relationship.

31 years I have given to you

31 years I stayed by your side.

YOU lost ME...

when you went to bed.

G.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Gail S.

I am complicated, confusing and misunderstood but I am real. Life is too short to be anything but happy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.