Poets logo

You Lose

I'm A Survivor

By Trish Marie RespaliePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
You Lose
Photo by Kyle Head on Unsplash

Did it boost your ego,

To cut me down?

Did it make you feel good,

To watch me drown?

Did it make you feel smart,

To make me feel dumb?

You’ve got to be an expert

At feeling numb.

Did it make you feel bigger,

Telling everyone how you rejected me?

Do you feel more worthy,

Pretending you had to set yourself free?

Did it make you feel strong,

Trying to break me?

Doesn’t it feel wrong,

Tearing me apart?

Were you just acting

From the very start?

Trauma bonds & soul connections,

They’re your preferred works of art.

I must admit you had me fooled,

Felt I was looking in a mirror

When I was really being groomed.

But it’s okay when being schooled

Leads to lessons and being tooled.

You think you’ve won,

But honey I’ve got news for you,

I’m a survivor baby,

So in the end…

You lose.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Trish Marie Respalie

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.