Poets logo

you have to stop

a poem

By Chloë J.Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Runner-Up in From Across the Room Challenge
you have to stop
Photo by Lance Denny on Unsplash

you have to stop.

looking at me, pinning me in place innocuously with those eyes.

a butterfly beneath glass.

for you, its fleeting. a courtesy.

but i am starved, in want of you,

so it becomes a seashell memory i put in my dwindling jar.

you have to stop.

you have no business dripping my name from your lips,

casually,

if that is the only part of me that will ever hang there.

i'd rather never hear it from you again if it would spare me the exquisite torture of wanting, so badly, to hear you say it again

just

once

more

you have to stop.

laughing so much, so freely, making me think of ways i could make you do it again. wishing i was the reason for it in the first place.

you have to stop with this in between, for i am the wing of a dragonfly, a wineglass in a drunken hand, the petal of a flower, a whispered oath.

easily broken.

you have to stop this in between, this nothing but maybe, not yet but almost-

you have to stop.

you, with your summer breeze voice, constellation eyes, river rapid laugh.

you must love me, or you must leave.

or you'll be the shattering of me.

heartbreak

About the Creator

Chloë J.

Probably not as funny as I think I am

Insta @chloe_j_writes

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Poppy 11 months ago

    This part ‘ i am the wing of a dragonfly, a wineglass in a drunken hand, the petal of a flower, a whispered oath. easily broken.’ and the ending really hit me but I related to the whole thing and really enjoyed reading it

  • Mackenzie Davisabout a year ago

    "you must love me, or you must leave. or you'll be the shattering of me." UGH, that ending! 😱🤯 Also, my favorite, "you have no business dripping my name from your lips, casually, if that is the only part of me that will ever hang there." That one takes a couple readings to really appreciate. This is SO beautifully sad. I'm in love with your writing.

  • My Name Is Not Cypressabout a year ago

    "constellation eyes, river rapid laugh." Bravo!

Chloë J.Written by Chloë J.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.