Poets logo

you ever been a kid who was terribly afraid of the dark

and you had to face that fear alone

By HufflecupPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read

you ever been a kid who was terribly afraid of the dark

like turn off the lights and sprint across your room afraid

because the monsters that are always waiting in the shadows might get you

then you get under the covers

like the fabric is some impenetrable shield

some nights I swear the blanket would glow

but it was probably moonlight coming through my window

The worst was when I was having trouble falling asleep

so I had no choice but to lay in my bed

staring into the void

hearing every noise the house makes

and I would cry

because I couldn't wake up my parents and tell them I was scared

I could hear them yelling quite clearly in the kitchen downstairs

or the living room

or slightly muffled behind their bedroom door

which was at the end of the hallway

if the people who are supposed to care about you the most

are playing the part of scary, noisy things cutting through the dark

who do I go to for comfort

instead I just sit in the dark and hope for peace & quiet

inside my brain and outside

I guess I conquered my own fear of the dark

if I am going to be alone in the dark

I better befriend the monsters

now I am most comfortable at night

when I can be me

because no one is watching

performance poetryslam poetrysocial commentary

About the Creator

Hufflecup

I want nothing more than to dedicate my life to writing, so I figured I would start here to test the waters. I will be submitting stories to as many communities as possible.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Linda Rivenbark2 years ago

    The end of this poem makes me feel that you have come a long way in facing your giants and overcoming them. We all have our personal giants that overwhelm us at some point in our lives, or maybe still do. Writing is a great way to work through the hard times and make the good times even better. Keep writing!

HufflecupWritten by Hufflecup

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.