Poets logo

You

((full moon challenge))

By Morgana MillerPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
1
You
Photo by ÉMILE SÉGUIN ✳️✳️✳️ on Unsplash

You hatched, slimy and naked, from an alien egg

You chased me around a community pool and bit the back of my leg

You rented a New York apartment and put it in my name

You stole all the words from my mouth before they were said

You grew mushrooms on my basement wall at ninety degree angles

You deceived each of my demons into thinking they were angels

You hid a howler monkey in my house who was quick to anger

You caught centipedes felled from air vents of our fifth wheel camper

You drew a fake map to mars and called me the cartographer

Finally, you anchored my ankle so I would stay tethered

Rather than float on away to those dreamscapes again

Where my mind makes a monster of the greatest of men.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Morgana Miller

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Ward Norcuttabout a year ago

    hey - thought I would check you out, as you wrote some fine (and thoughtful) words about one of my favorite writers( and people) Ryan S. Turns out, you have written some Very nice prose! you have a structure and flow here that makes me think it is going to have a meter and rhyme scheme, but it does not. Is this intentional? This...discord? you do come back to it again in the last couplet... All those lovely "you's" such wonderful accusations, then, "finally, rather, where" ? I see thay are all the same thought laid as three lines - the intention certainly hits, but do you mean to leave the repetition and continue the same structure? Love reading this, by the way. Best regards and long live the writers.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.