Poets logo

You Don't Listen

Poetry

By Ella DormanPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
13
You Don't Listen
Photo by Kristina Flour on Unsplash

You don't listen to me,

When I speak about my pain.

You are only there when,

It matters to you.

Just an object put on a shelf,

Pretty to look at.

But never to hold,

So dear and close to your heart.

And yet I sit,

And pretend it doesn't hurt.

When inside I am screaming,

Out for help.

When it truly matters,

You're never there.

And yet I still,

Sit there and wait.

The waiting doesn't hurt,

So long as I stop.

I stop feeling,

Like I meant something.

As long as I pull away,

As you have so many times before.

"Sit down. Shut up."

A simple command.



That you didn't even realize,

That you said.

A simple social cue,

That you never noticed,

Because you don't listen.

_______________________

Thank you for taking the time to read my work.

If you enjoyed my piece, please consider clicking the little heart beside my name. Tips aren't necessary but would be most welcome.

If you are interested in reading more of my work, please click on my picture below.

sad poetry
13

About the Creator

Ella Dorman

I am a homeschooling mother of 5 by day and a college student and writer by night.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.