Poets logo

You Become What You Drink

A story of alcoholism from a friend’s POV!

By Linda BromleyPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
1
I painted this years ago when supporting a friend through her alcoholism and based this poem off my painting which she said was accurate! I learnt a LOT about it from her journey!

Addiction

It’s starts off having a few extra drinks

Until you realise you need them

More and more

Soon you find you can’t start the day

Unless you have your morning shot

Oh it tastes so good

Now I need it just to breathe

And without it in my system

Life hurts

I’m always out of money, broke

In debt - my habit spends it for me

So I borrow

I see all my relationships breaking down

But I don’t understand why

They say it’s the drink

I rely on others more and more

To rescue me out of scrapes

They help reluctantly

My life has become one massive high

Of alcohol-feuled hazy mess

I hate it

But I love it too - it gives me courage

And that’s what keeps me drinking

Just one more sip

I’ve lost everyone around me now

At least Johnny and Jim are my friends

Have another swig

Lost my licence and my car is a right off

Who’ll go to the bottle-o for me now?

No one it seems

Desperation makes me do unutterable things

Just so I can get more

I’m so ashamed

How did I get to this point in life?

My friend says “you become what you drink!”

I am alcohol!

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Linda Bromley

Just one of many creative outlets for me has been books! My whole life I’ve loved them and it’s so easy to make the jump to writing.

Recently I completed a poetry challenge and now, looking for more excuses to write, I’ve found myself here!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • ROCK 2 months ago

    This was a poignant way to bring attention to an addiction that destroys so many lives, loved ones, and families. I can't imagine taking a shot for breakfast of anything but coffee. I also really like your posted artwork at the top!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.