Poets logo

You Are What You Eat

is that why I’m not enough?

By PoetryPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
2
You Are What You Eat
Photo by Valentin Lacoste on Unsplash

They say you are what you eat

and I was raised on a diet of empty

now I am hollow

I eat guilt in place of lemon cake

because it lands at the bottom of my stomach like a feather

and all I want is to be lightweight

so I keep eating summer air

but the mere breeze doesn’t make me shrink

and it doesn’t keep me breathing

they say you are what you eat

I keep eating mistakes

and I was one

I keep eating my secrets so I can be mysterious

But the only thing it makes me is

sicker

Maybe I should eat a bandage

So I could become a fixer upper

For my broken heart

Maybe I should eat happy

But she ran away

with another greedy fucker

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Sarah D10 months ago

    This poem is heartfelt and relatable! Read mine? https://vocal.media/fiction/a-lusty-story

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.