Poets logo

You Are the Light

A love poem

By Andrew C McDonaldPublished 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 2 min read
3

I thought I was at the end of the road

You blazed me a new trail

I was near the end of my rope

You caught me and cut the knot

I didn’t know where my next meal would come from

You fed love and acceptance to my malnourished soul

I walked alone in the dark

You lit a torch in my night

I was lost, wandering, hurt

You cut a path to a peaceful haven

My heart was bleeding

You stitched it with compassion

I needed a safe space

You built around my heart a fortress

I forgot to smell the flowers

You made of my life a bouquet

I saw only the ugly side of life

You introduced me to beauty

I looked at the dawn and saw only a glare

You gave me sunglasses

I cried in the mirror

You drew a heart around my reflection

You dried my tears with your love

I shivered, hunched in the downpour

You taught me to dance in the rain

I thought I would die alone

You put a ring on my finger

My bed was cold at night

You made it a comforter

I hated coming to my home

You made ours a wonderland

My pulse was slow

You make it race

I walked neath the moon without looking

You turned my gaze upward

I hid in shadows

You led me into the light

You are the warm breeze that clears my clouds

You are the singular snowflake in my blizzard

You are the cave in which I shelter from the storm

When I need nourishment …

You are the apple orchard

When I thirst

Your love quenches my every need

You are my haven

My guiding light

My candle in the widow

My love

You are my life

You are my wife

I love you

love poems
3

About the Creator

Andrew C McDonald

Andrew McDonald is a 911 dispatcher of 30 yrs with a B.S. in Math (1985). He served as an Army officer 1985 to 1992, honorably exiting a captain.

https://www.amazon.com/Killing-Keys-Andrew-C-McDonald-ebook/dp/B07VM843XL?ref_=ast_author_dp

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    Awww, you both are soooo adorable! Your poem was SO sweet! 🥰🥰🥰

  • Babs Iverson6 months ago

    Exquisitely written!!! Love ir!!!💕❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.