Poets logo

You are God

And so is everyone else.

By Andrew WallacePublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

“What, did you forget something?”

“No Mom,” I press my last bag into the backseat of my car. I use my shoulder to press the door shut and turn back to her. I must look worried. I’m not. She’s beginning to well up with tears. I’m not. She’s blessed when my sister and I visit. I’m not. Not this time anyways.

I’m driving now. Thinking about goodbyes I wasn’t ready for. Thinking about hellos I won’t see coming. Practicing in my head how to do what I do best. I won’t squander my gifts. If I had stayed there would have been no change. I love to change.

I think of what I’ve walked away from. The power that I let go. The power I couldn’t let go of. If I were to swim in these thoughts I’d sink like a stone. I paddle back to the surface and take a deep breath as I guide my steering wheel along the winding road.

The sharp corners, I cut some close. I wonder what it will feel like to make it. Maybe my life will become a vacation. That’s too much to ask for, instead I pray for salvation.

Lord, take me the way I take this breath. Take me the way I take steps. Make me the best of the best when it comes to myself. Teach me the lessons until none meant for me are left.

Made in the perfect image, yet different. Sinning so often I would need to swim in forgiveness just to get this mess off my chest. I’ve dipping into simplistic ex’s; exercise skipping, pressurized dick, and still stick to my scriptures.

What, have you forgot? That your body is a temple for the Holy Spirit; Which is in you. That you are made from that Holy Spirit, and you are not your own.

I’m rented space. The energy that moves my legs, the inertia to keep this pace, the entropy to create such change; All in an honest name. We are not equal, but we are the same. We are God’s favorite story to tell. Chasing gold, and glory, running like hell. An autobiography, cause who better to tell than you on yourself?

I confess. I did forget. And I promise I will again. I’m not one to repent, I’m a serpent with words to smith. I’ve turned virgins to furnaces. Purses to earnings, and made worthless purchases just to burn a moment going in circles again.

So here goes another story turned gospel poem. I’m God, you’re God, and we both forgot. Take off is possible, fall all those who’ve got too hot. Follow your God. He’s been calling a lot.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Andrew Wallace

@andrewnotlogan for Instagram and Twitter.

I’m hoping to profit from my existential dread. Maybe if I write something ~you~ find worth while my life will somehow transcend my mortal body and I’ll live on forever... but probably not.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.