Poets logo

You and I, Crystallized

A Poem

By Debi AbrantesPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

You used to be everything I need

The beginning of my day

The ending, and the in between

You were my world and I your queen

Our love was Byzantine

Complicated and outdated

It was the lie that couldn't be sated

I told you I loved you because I was scared to be alone

Yet you lingered still

Like the smell of your cheap cologne

I didn't know what that word meant

Or how we would become hellbent

On hurting one another, so relentlessly

We were bound together so chemically

And so my heart hardened, harder still

Any emotion gone after that abortion pill

I felt my heart turn to stone

I realized then I would rather be alone

Sick of the tears, the fighting, the loss

Rest in pieces, we need a headstone

This time, your begging is superfluous

It's time to say our goodbyes

Like a ship about to capsize

Finally you and I, crystallized

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.