Poets logo

You

A Poem

By AJ RanneyPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like
“A broken heart is hard to fix”

I saw you for the first time.

You were different.

You weren’t the cutest nor the ugliest.

But, you were something.

You smile. I smile.

You laugh. I smiled more.

You look at me… I feel something.

You said things you shouldn’t.

We were a secret.

We did things we shouldn’t have.

You made me feel something I never felt.

You made me laugh.

You made me smile.

You said the right things.

Made me forget my commitment issues.

You were different, and I never knew why.

We snuck around and no one knew.

We hugged.

We kissed.

And more.

You made me feel something.

I didn’t know what it was, but I liked it.

That feeling I soon found out to be love.

Yes love.

The things you said and did.

Made me fall harder than before.

That’s when you said those three words,

That I never knew would affect me forever.

Those words.

Those three words.

I love you.

That’s what he said.

My heart skipped a beat in my chest at that moment.

I smiled. Not just a normal one. This smile was different than the others.

Then I typed those three words back.

I love you.

He said I was amazing.

He said I was beautiful.

He said I was perfect.

He said he loved me.

We knew what were doing was wrong.

But we didn’t care.

I was in love and couldn’t help it.

Then all that went away as fast as it came.

I will never forget that night.

The night I cried.

Cried like I never have before.

For hours.

The tears just kept coming and coming.

That was the worst night of my life.

I was broken.

Heartbroken to be more correct.

I couldn’t sleep for days.

I tried and tried to message you.

But, you ignored.

You blocked.

I was confused.

I was played.

I was mad.

But I still loved you.

I didn’t know why,

Even after what you did.

I laid awake most nights with our memories,

Replaying in my head.

The crying would begin again.

I wonder,

Why was I so stupid.

Maybe if I was prettier, he would love me forever?

I ask myself that every day.

I miss him.

I won't lie.

I miss his hugs.

His kisses.

The way he could always make me smile.

I’ll never forget.

But all I can say is,

I’m sorry……

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

AJ Ranney

I write short stories and little poems.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.