Poets logo

YKK

A romantic reminiscence, with every line starting with the same letter. Because I misread the instructions for Vocal’s ‘Tautogram’ challenge :D

By Addison AlderPublished about a year ago 1 min read
2
YKK
Photo by Marcus Urbenz on Unsplash

Y’know it was ten years ago,

your bashful eyes sparked my ego.

Yin and yang, I thought, but hell--

YOLO! (Cringe.) So off I go...

‘Yellow suits you’, was my gambit,

(Yuck. Your patience did me credit...)

‘Yeah?’ you mumbled, shyly tugging at

your cashmere sweats.

‘You’re very k-kind,’ you gently uttered.

Your voice was soft to hide your stutter,

yet I couldn’t help drawing near,

yearning, shameless, panties a-flutter...

‘You OK? You seem... embarrassed?’

‘Yeah ‘cause normally g-girls don’t see me.’

‘You’re kidding? You’re a 10, a worldie!’

(Yeesh. Why did no one stop me?)

Yet, improbably, I remember,

Your face was grinning,

Your blue eyes shone,

Your composure held as I yielded mine.

Yang and yin, roles reversed.

Yet despite it all, it worked.

Youthful optimism, perhaps.

Yesterday’s rosy myopia.

Yarrow stems surround your casket.

Your blue eyes hidden under closed lids.

Your warmth extinguished by disease.

Youth’s wasted on the young.

Years ago we told each other:

‘You’re a zipper, I am buttons.

Yet somehow we fit together.’

YKK, I miss you.

love poemssad poetryheartbreak
2

About the Creator

Addison Alder

Writer of Wrongs. Discontent Creator. Weird tales to enthral and appal.

All original fiction. No reviews, no listicles. 👋🏻 Handwrought in London, UK 🇬🇧

Buy my eBooks on GODLESS and Amazon ☠️

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.