Poets logo

Yippie-Ki-Yay

Outside Looking In

By Earl W. PearlPublished 11 days ago Updated 6 days ago 1 min read
4

I’m partying heavy with my buddy, Clay

He starts telling people his pronoun is, “They”

This may be transphobic since that’s what they say

But I asked my buddy, “Dude, what are you, gay”

The party theme’s Western with oversized caps

Us cowboys in denim, with some wearing chaps

The cowgirls are gussied up, corsets and straps

A regular hoedown, obnoxious perhaps

So, standing there baffled, I pulled Clay aside

I’m asking my buddy, “Which horse do you ride

I thought you liked women, but clearly you lied”

He said, “I’ve come out and I’ll no longer hide”

The next sound you heard you just couldn’t ignore

The sound of my jaw after hitting the floor

I couldn’t believe that I missed it before

Now I’m quizzing my buddy a little bit more

“Would you rather have Beth or her Asian friend, Lem

Since “They” are the jewels if you’re seeking a gem

Or those dudes in the dining room, some of “Them” femme

So which is it Clay, is it “They,” is it “Them”

He said, “l’ll be honest in which way I sway

So pay close attention and try not to stray

If asking my choice for a ‘roll in the hay’

I may lose a friend, but it’s “Them” everyday

How strange in our friendships, the secrets we miss

I’m shocked since I felt we were closer than this

Did neither one notice that something’s amiss

What’s taken for granted, the ultimate “diss”

The timing was right so I knew what to do

I said to my buddy while handing him ‘chew’

“We’ve misread the room, I’ve been ‘saddled up’ too

So giddy up cowboy, I’m riding with you”

humor
4

About the Creator

Earl W. Pearl

I’ve been writing poetry (rhyming mostly) since about 2014 and have recently transitioned to writing novels and short stories. My poetry genres are faith, humor, social issues, politics, pretty much any subject matter.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk9 days ago

    It all gets confusing nowadays, but your humor is GREAT!

  • Andrea Corwin 10 days ago

    Hahaha - this is great and I loved how you rhymed it, such talent!

  • Lamar Wiggins11 days ago

    😂🤩 Way to be inclusive! Enough said, lol.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.