Poets logo

Yesterday Was Lonely

These are lyrics a friend asked me to write for a song about his loss of a friend from her drug addiction.

By Lady SundayPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

Just for last night,

everything was alright.

I had gone to bed,

our laughter in my head.

For one last night,

your life was alright.

Yesterday was lonely

as the snowflakes hit the ground.

A normal day for me,

waiting for you to come around.

I still think of all those Summer nights,

you caught fish,

enough for three.

Sitting by the fire,

we'd laugh like kids all night.

Yesterday was lonely,

waiting for you to call at one.

Laying in the dark,

at 3 am I thought I heard knocking on my wall.

The ice and snow was frozen

on my windows like lace,

but I didn't see your face.

Beyond the window pane of glass,

snow powdered our lawns,

snow-white on green, green grass.

Just for last night

everything was all right.

I had gone to bed,

our laughter in my head.

For one last night...your life was all right.

If you or someone you love suffers drug addiction, here is the link to call the 24 hour addiction hotline: 1-888-350-0985 and please check out this website.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Lady Sunday

I'm a self-publishing author of fiction and I love to research and write creative non-fiction.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.