Poets logo

Yes oui si ja

paranoia

By Andrei Z.Published 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read
9

They watch you during the day,

They watch you at night,

And even on the weekends.

Yesterday, the day before,

As well as today and tomorrow.

Oh, don't be afraid,

They merely contemplate

And wish you no harm.

Whether you go on a hike, on strike,

At work, from work... literally

Wherever that is you go,

They'll be watching you.

Apathetic guardian angels

With wings, without them,

With optical zoom and infrared sensors.

Feel safe! Enjoy your evening cup of coffee

Or a morning pint of beer.

They scrutinize your every movement

And judge, and scorn, and laugh

At your misfortunes.

But they might as well admire

Your small victories and even respect you.

Or do they?

https://pigeonsarentreal.co.uk/upgrades-to-the-pigeon-drones-biotech-hardware/

Be vigilant—or, on the contrary,

Don't.

They'll take care of everything.

Cheers!

social commentarysurreal poetrysad poetryhumor
9

About the Creator

Andrei Z.

Overthinker.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    I used to be scared of pigeons, how they are always together in swarms and have no fear of people. Especially after seeing Hitchcock’s birds in 3D. And the conspiracy theory that some birds are fake, nothing more than government surveillance? It wouldn’t even surprise me.

  • Rob Angeli10 months ago

    Well written. Intriguing style, will have to explore more of your work when I get home. Beware the pigeons!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)10 months ago

    Andrei, I always enjoy you sense of humour and view of the world! This was fun and such a great read! I love the theme of "do what makes you happy" that comes through in this poem. "Have your evening coffee or morning pint if beer", they will judge you no matter what so at do something for yourself and don't let the robot pigeons dictate your life! 😝

  • Mackenzie Davis10 months ago

    Okay did this comment pend long enough? Wait, don't answer...I guess we'll never know. 🙃 "Feel safe! Enjoy your evening cup of coffee Or a morning pint of beer They scrutinize your every movement And judge, and scorn, and laugh At your misfortunes." I don't know why this is my favorite part, but it must have something to do with the "blink and you miss it" subversion of expectations. Evening cup of coffee...I think I missed that the first time round and I love that I caught it this time in order to praise you for it. I think I'm properly paranoid after reading this, Andrei. I'm already skeptical of so many things, so I guess it's not a far leap...but yeah, you encapsulate the grandness of the surveillance state that I now feel quite differently paranoid. And sure sure, the birds are the subject...(topically...). "But they might as well admire Your small victories and even respect you. Or do they?" This is what I could laugh at. But it feels so true that I'm almost terrified by the irony. Great piece, as always! You got me thinking with this one.

  • Grz Colm10 months ago

    As per usual I have no idea what is going in here but that is okay; I think I was born confused! I was having such a nice, happy time reading your thoughtful poem about paranoia, but then a pigeon appeared with a camera in its eye and a battery pack and sent me off the deep end! Many thanks! 🙏 😉

  • Hahahahahahahahaha I loved this! I've heard so many theories about this!

  • Kendall Defoe 10 months ago

    Just because you're paranoid doesn't mean you're wrong. 🙄

  • Lamar Wiggins10 months ago

    Lol, Now I’m paranoid.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.