Poets logo

Yerevan in Winter (poem)

“I watched you stare into the abyss…”

By Rebecca Ruth GouldPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Rebecca Ruth Gould reading "Yerevan in Winter"

Yerevan in Winter

As we hewed words from the stone tower,

the planets completed their orbit.

Ice cracked & froze.

Our glass walls gazed on the circus below.

Cars sailed through smog.

Buses creaked their way to work.

As we sat secluded in our icy fortress,

the firmaments lit the horizons

that translated our union into words.

I watched you stare into the abyss.

I watched, passing

the lives we could have lived.

I watched our fates diverge,

& our shadows merge.

I watched the images

from our quarry twist & turn,

then melt like snowflakes

in the crisp morning snow.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Rebecca Ruth Gould

I am author of the award-winning book Writers and Rebels: The Literature of Insurgency in the Caucasus (Yale University Press, 2016). My Wikipedia page.

Subscribe to my YouTube Channel Poetry & Protest. ⬆️

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.