Poets logo

Yellow

I used to hate the colour yellow

By RoPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Yellow
Photo by todd kent on Unsplash

I used to hate the colour yellow

I thought it was obnoxious, too bright, too optimistic

And I, a pessimist, could not fathom

How someone could be drawn to it

But when you said it was your favourite colour,

I knew there was something I’d missed

I began to see it everywhere;

In the bees, the pollen, the sunrise and sunset

In dappled light on the forest floor and in birds’ wings

I’d see you in every shade and think

How could I ever hate something so beautiful?

Like a moth to a flame, I fell in love with it as I did with you

It takes time to reconcile with such a joyful colour

But I’m learning to love yellow again

How it glitters on the water

And lights up the shadows at dawn

I turn my face up to the sun and feel its warmth

And breathe in the scents of summer.

heartbreaksad poetrynature poetrylove poemsinspirational
Like

About the Creator

Ro

I wanted a place to share my poetry and short stories. I only hope that someone finds themselves in the words I have written.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.