Poets logo

Yeah I know...

Been there, done that.

By Jim E. Beer - Story writer of fact and fiction. Published 5 months ago 1 min read
1

Yeah I know. There's lots of injustice in the world but...

and I know everyone has a right to life, that is until...

and every child matters, in theory...

I've seen the violence, been a victim of abuse.

Been there, done that.

I know most of us have mental health issues of one kind or another, in fact, don't we all?

I know you can't trust anyone but yourself...

Been there, done that.

I've been on the receiving end of discrimination and racism...

Been there, done that.

You might look at me and see the demonized alpha male and white entitled...

Oh how wrong you'd be.

We all have preconceived judgement heaped on people we'll never meet.

Been there done that...

Our own little bubbles, cracking at the seams...

How do we treat the pain?

Through some kind of addiction?

So many kinds to choose if you throw moderation out the window.

Injecting morphine by the dashboard light.

Been there, done that.

Yeah I know...

It's all very good to virtue signal, with your flags atop battleship ethyl, until she's sinking by degrees.

Yeah I know...

I may be in the wrong, but so may you too.

At what point do we quit pointing fingers, including at ourselves?

And go on living, loving, making and doing, instead of accusing, hating, polluting and refusing.

Until our dying day?

Time to give it a rest maybe.

Put 'er down for a while.

Pick up what you have left and start again.

Been there, done that.

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Jim E. Beer - Story writer of fact and fiction.

Raised in Ancaster, Ont. I write about what I know and survived. Apart from tales of my youth, I am writing a horror story for the Fiction-Horror section of the library. Met an old homeless guy He told me, "Everyone has their own story."

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    Life sometimes can seem so exhausting. But we gotta keep moving, I guess. One step at a time. Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.